Day 87 Wilbur to Coulee City WA - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2023

Day 87 Wilbur to Coulee City WA

We woke up to rain then thunder and lightning. Multiple storm cells were rolling through so we just chilled, had a second cup of coffee, tried to secure camping spots for the rest of the trip. The forecast kept changing from the storms clearing at 11:00, then 12:00, then 1:00. Around 11:30 we decided to drive to Coulee City to secure a site at the Community Park which is on a first come first serve basis. It was still pouring when we got here, so we waited and by 1:30 the rain and lightning was over. Peter drove me back to Wilbur and I had a very pleasant ride to Coulee City. The traffic was minimal for Route 2. Lots of recently harvested wheat fields and expansive rolling hills. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lonely house
Heart 3 Comment 0

Arrived at the Community Park to Henry’s vociferous greeting. It’s a very nice city park on Banks Lake. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

When it was cold and rainy this morning, I asked Peter for bean soup and he made it!

Yummy!!!
Heart 3 Comment 3
Steve HurlbutThat soup looks delicious!

You’re almost home. Maybe another week?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Steve HurlbutI’ll be home Sunday. Peter’s going home on Saturday. We couldn’t get a camping spot in shooting fistic home but I can camp at a state park as a cyclist.
Peter’s soup was so good! If you ever come visit me, I’ll ask him to make it for you.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Julie O’NeillJust reading this, I am feeling excited as you plan your homecoming!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Great way to end the day!

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 3,265 miles (5,255 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Nancy HornikWhat amazing memories you are making! Having Peter and Henry as your welcome home greeters brings a smile to my face. Im sure it cheers you up after a hard day of riding. I wonder if I ask Mr Hornik if he would make me some bean soup. Peters looks delicious!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Sandy EarleYes and Henry makes quite a ruckus! You’ll have to come to Lummi Island and Peter will make you bean soup. Or the next time we’re camping near Milwaukee!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago