Day 86 Planning day in Wilbur - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2023

Day 86 Planning day in Wilbur

Change in plans

Route 20 was closed Friday night due to the expanding Sourdough Mountain fire. Peter wanted to make sure they weren’t going to reopen it soon as we are at a juncture where I had planned to head north up the Methow valley. I don’t think there’s any chance of it reopening soon so I’m proceeding with plans to cross the Cascades on Route 2, not nearly as nice or convenient as Route 20. There’s a lot more truck traffic on 2. So the plan is to work my way to Leavenworth to position myself for the climb to Steven’s Pass. Then I’ll try to find my way to Snohomish and pick up the Centennial Trail to Arlington. After that I’ll head for Bay View State Park and then shoot for home. I’m a little nervous about the routing around Snohomish. Maybe I can find a bike store in the area for some advice. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0