Day 85 Airway Heights to Wilbur WA - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2023

Day 85 Airway Heights to Wilbur WA

I was somewhat dreading the ride today as it would be completely on US 2 which was very unpleasant riding into Airway Heights yesterday. Initially there was a lot of traffic but mostly going toward Spokane. After getting beyond Airway Heights, there was a good shoulder except one spot over a bridge where there was NO shoulder with a giant downhill to the bridge and an equally giant uphill immediately after. I was very fortunate to not have any vehicles behind me for that stretch. 

The countryside opened up to vast wheat fields looking ripe for harvest. The wheat looks different than what I saw out east, shorter and fluffier. 

Heart 3 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillI love this photo so much!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
There were also grasses of many different colors.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Calming vistas
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I went through Reardan, I saw a store I would like to visit but it wasn’t open yet. 

Yarn and quilting
Heart 1 Comment 0

The skies to the west were looking ominous so I tried to hustle to get to Davenport. 

I was hoping this sign wasn’t prescient
Heart 0 Comment 0

About 13 miles later, I came to Davenport. I stopped and ate lunch in a sweet little park on the main strip (route 2) where a volunteer was deadheading and watering the geraniums. He said the park was 23 years old so it must’ve been a millennial project. It had a small bandstand surrounded by benches AND real restrooms. Nice job Davenport!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

West of Davenport, I started seeing mountains in the distance. I wondered if it could be Sherman Pass. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
More curious cows
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Arrived in Wilbur just as the shoulder was being closed down for repairs. There’s a burger place right next to the campground and another one down the street. I know what Peter’s having for dinner. I’m having a huge salad topped with chopped chicken. Henry is having salmon and sweet potato dog food with pumpkin. Everyone’s happy. 

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 3,235 miles (5,206 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Nancy GrahamWe are still on our little journey and camping is not allowing much wifi strength. So I am not able to see all your photos for read most of your post. Therefore, I will pick it up and finish your journey after we have finished ours this next weekend. You are doing, and have done an awesome trip and I only wish I could have such a bike tour. Until later — adieu until then.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago