Day 84 Coeur d’Alene to Airway Heights - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2023

Day 84 Coeur d’Alene to Airway Heights

I was a bit nervous about the route I plotted on Ridewithgps yesterday. Using city streets in an unfamiliar urban environment always raises the possibility that something will go wrong or you may find yourself on a street unsuitable for cycling. In addition, I planned to use the Idaho Centennial Trail as well as the Spokane Centennial Trail, both of which have areas where they use city streets which are not always well signed. And I had no idea what I would be getting into between Spokane and Airway Heights. 

After leaving Peter and Henry, I headed down Government Way with heavy morning traffic and a shoulder that temporarily disappeared for a spell and eventually encountered the Idaho Centennial Trail. It meandered around and eventually went through Post Falls where there was a poorly signed detour. Luckily there read another cyclist who helped me find the trail again. I passed a community garden that had some lovely annuals which always cheers me up. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

I crossed the Spokane river and entered Washington, my final state.

Heart 3 Comment 2
Peter EarleYay! Homeward bound! Lummi Island here she comes!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Julie O’NeillHomestretch!!! Oh the places you have been.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago


The trail followed the river and crossed it twice. I ran into some construction and decided to see if I could get through which I did but I was scolded by one of the bosses after the fact. 

Haven’t had to deal with this for quite a while
Heart 0 Comment 0

The trail was quite attractive around Gonzaga University. 

Heart 0 Comment 2
Ed SpeareYou were close to my niece's home here.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleEd- you have family all along my route. They live in beautiful places. Have fun with your kids and grandkids!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Aftet the second river crossing, I think I was off the trail as I didn’t see any trail signs. I passed the Masonic temple and an interesting sculpture of runners. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 4
Jim LanePretty cool sculptures. They make me feel good as I know I could blow by all of them with a slow jog. Glad your back in Washington, looking forward to seeing you guys. There is a big fire raging up around Sourdough Mtn . cheers, z
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Jim LaneWhere’s Sourdough Mountain?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Jim LaneI just looked it up. I wonder if they’ll close Washington pass. The smoke could be a problem anyway.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jim LaneTo Sandy EarleGiant plumes of smoke in the mountains looking eastfrom the ferry. They talked about evacuating the Ross Lake Resort. I'm guessing its probably pretty smoky on Hwy 20. Its 0 contained at this point,
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

I eventually came to an incredibly steep hill with horrible pavement. The first half was over 10% grade so I decided to hike it. The second half was 7-8% grade so I rode it. Then came the two and a half mile 4.5- 5% grade hill. I can do that. The road then joined with Route 2 and became insanely busy but with a good shoulder and eventually got me to the neighborhood of the campground. 

We’ve decided to try to make it to Wilbur tomorrow which is 60 miles as the crow flies i.e. US 2 or about 75 miles using smaller roads. My butt voted for US 2. Hopefully the shoulder continues. 

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 3,177 miles (5,113 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0