Day 83 Hope ID to Coeur d’Allene ID - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2023

Day 83 Hope ID to Coeur d’Allene ID

The best part of todays ride was the first 28 miles before embarking on US 95.   Lake Pend Oreille was sparkling and beautiful in the early morning light. 

The deer grazing as I left the campground
Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Muralists busy at work on ID 200
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw this on the Sandpoint Trail. I don’t know what it is but it had interesting graffiti inside.
Heart 1 Comment 0

 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Open water swimmers seen from the Longbridge Trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bridge of the Longbridge Trail
Heart 0 Comment 3
Nancy GrahamI guess we almost got to see you again! We were riding the bridge and trail on Thursday (8/3, yesterday) mid-morning with several of the women who were on our camping outing. It would have been quite the happening if had seen you there too.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Nancy GrahamHow cool would that have been? I was on the bridge at 9:45. Was the highlight of MY day meeting you and Susan!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Nancy GrahamTo Sandy EarleWOW, we really did just miss you on the bridge by minutes. We were on it from Sandpoint at about 10:00. It sounded like you exited right after the bridge somewhere and did not ride into town. That is most likely how we missed seeing you.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

After the bridge, I ran into a couple walking their dog and asked them about the trail. They told me to turn left before the next tunnel, go over the railroad tracks, turn right on Ignite road then right at the stop sign then left at US 95. The trail which continues to Sagle (Ignite) Road is in very poor shape. It was a very pleasant detour. 

Then the fun began. 95 is a very busy road but has a usually decent shoulder except when it goes through a town. I pulled over on a pullout to eat but left my bike on its side as I seem to have lost my clickstand. A nice man in a bright blue pickup pulled over to make sure I was alright. His dog sitting next to him was smiling! I wish I’d taken his picture. I assured him I was fine. 

As I was taking a diversion off 95 in Granite, a man pulled up beside me and offered me a stay with him and his wife. So I must say that Idahoans have been more than kind.    

When I got to  Athol, I hopped on the bike trail that goes all the way to Coeur d’Alene. While there is no shade, it’s a definite improvement over the highway. Not my favorite kind of biking but tomorrow will be better. 

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 3,130 miles (5,037 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0