Day 57-59 Riverside WY - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2023 to July 9, 2023

Day 57-59 Riverside WY

Well I guess I should delete the last sentence from the prior entry. Last night I experienced severe abdominal pain. I went to the clinic here the next morning and checked in and was told to return at 11:30. The closest hospital is in Granby or Steamboat Springs, both about an hour’s drive. The staff were extremely nice, the clinic is immaculate but they lack facilities to diagnose certain conditions, understandable given the size of Walden. The doctor was very patient and attentive but understandably hesitant to treat without a confirmed diagnosis. I suspect I have diverticulitis. We drove to Riverside where we could get a camping site as the campground in Walden was booked. I slept all the way and throughout the day. After becoming febrile, I decided to start the antibiotics I was given in Walden in case the situation worsened. I’m taking a few days off and will try to do a short ride on Monday. If things worsen, I’ll go to a hospital in Laramie. 

I did meet a couple of through-hikers here doing the Continental Divide trail. Their trail names are Bigfoot (believe me- size 14, they’re huge!) and Maverick. Bigfoot almost finished the PCT last year but had to quit near the end in Washington due to forest fires. At least cyclists can often reroute under those circumstances. 

I should mention that Lazy Acres Campground in Riverside is a very nice campground. Tent sites here are $15 and they have showers and laundry facilities. There are restaurants and bar across the street. If you want to upgrade it, there’s an incredible restaurant about a mile away in Encampment WY called DiVide. Peter ate the best steak of his life there. I had perfectly cooked salmon and grilled vegetables. They had a really decent wine selection. I’m not a beer drinker so can’t comment on that. Peter had a perfect Manhattan. I’m not drinking 🙁. 

Peter managed to snag a new hitch jack in Casper and installed it! One less thing to worry about!

Signing out until Monday. Hope the body mends. Thanks for following along. 

Heart 3 Comment 2
Nancy HornikOh Sandy.....hope by now you are feeling much better! I too am so glad Peter and Henry are with you. Please dont push yourself to hard. Its time you take as good of care of yourself, as you did to so many others throughout your career!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Nancy HornikI’m feeling better but not nearly 100%. Easy ride this morning. Will take the day off tomorrow. Planning a hike with the boys (Peter and Henry). Maybe a swim in the morning if it’s not too cold. Haven’t been in a pool for 4-5 months!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Di KegelesOh honey! I hope the next post brings news of you feeling better! This is such an incredible trip your both on! I’m so happy Peter came along!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Julie O’NeillOh no! I am sorry about your GI issues, Sandy. I have my paper maps open, and from them, and my own trips to CO & WY, I can see the expansiveness of the West is complicating your plans. It’s so far between population centers where you can get healthcare, bike service, and other supplies you might need. Unless I am interpreting it wrong, you have gone from a campground north of Ft Collins, CO, all the way up to Casper, WY. That’s a lot of miles to cover. I hope this was on your route west. But most of all, I hope you are feeling ok and not dealing with a serious medical situation. Take it easy, feel better!
I hope your bike is better, too.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Nancy GrahamSo sorry for this health concern. I sure hope you can get the diagnosis and care that you need and will be up and on the saddle in no time. Will miss your daily posts, and look forward to hearing how everything is fine once again. Do take care and take as much time off as your body tells you to.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleThanks Nancy! I’m definitely feeling better and not in pain anymore. Hoping to hike tomorrow then face the Wyoming winds on Wednesday.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’Neill Oh no- we’re in Saratoga now (Monday). Peter had to drive to Casper to get a hitch jack for the trailer last Saturday. Henry and I stayed in Riverside and mostly snoozed. Spent 3 days in Riverside- total rest days.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Di KegelesThanks Di! I’m feeling much better. Pain is essentially gone. Just fatigued. Peter’s been great and so much more relaxed! Give my best to Cheryl and a good belly scratch to Max.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Di KegelesThanks Di! I’m feeling much better. Pain is essentially gone. Just fatigued. Peter’s been great and so much more relaxed! Give my best to Cheryl and a good belly scratch to Max.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Di KegelesTo Sandy EarleMaxx gratefully accepts all belly and chest rubbings! And both Cheryl and I are happy you’re feeling better!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Scott AndersonI’m so sorry to her about this, Sandy. Good luck on getting back to full health quickly.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago