Day 60 Riverside WY to Saratoga WY - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2023

Day 60 Riverside WY to Saratoga WY

Slept in till 7:00. I had planned to leave early but that didn’t happen which was okay. Otherwise I wouldn’t have met Lucy, an adorable, loquacious 4 year old who was not the least intimidated by Henry. I also got to talk to Maverick again. He’s from Hong Kong, hiking the Continental Divide Trail. He’s experiencing some swelling in his ankle so he’s taking it easy and will probably only do ten miles today. I hope he heals. 

It was nearly ten before I left. What magnificent scenery! I was astounded; I actually had tears in my eyes. I had slept all the way from Walden to Riverside and missed the change in my surroundings. 
Moreover, the road and shoulder was decent all the way and the grades were pleasant. I felt fine on the ride, maybe somewhat breathless at times. 

Looking back on Encampment WY
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
These photos don’t do justice to the vistas
Heart 0 Comment 0

I felt unusually tired after the ride so I’m laying low. Peter cooked an incredible pasta dinner dinner and we’re chillin’ watching the river flow by. 

View of the North Platte River from our campsite
Heart 1 Comment 0

In case anyone’s wondering, I don’t plan to go back and bike the route from Walden to Riverside. I’m a gestalt kind of person and not looking for a Girl Scout badge. Not that I ever did anything remotely physical in girl scouts; I do remember making “situpons” out of newspapers then sitting around the campfire- before “camping” in a cabin. We were delicate creatures and had to be protected. 

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 2,142 miles (3,447 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0