Day 54 Gateway Park to Rustic - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2023

Day 54 Gateway Park to Rustic

The next few days are late postings as we don’t have cell service or internet where we’re camping. I started from Gateway Park and followed Poudre Canyon Road/SR14 to Rustic where we’re staying. The road has inconsistent shoulders, often with rumble strips covering at least half the width making them unusable. The road is curvy with frequently limited sight lines wrapping around rock faces. Traffic was generally courteous. I didn’t take many photos as I was obsessed with watching the road and traffic, being a holiday. 

Lots of interesting rock formations on the route
Heart 4 Comment 0

As I rode by the Mishawaka Inn, a guy shouted out his window “Is it sketchy to ride Poudre Canyon?”.  You could say that. But the rushing river is so beautiful and creates such a beautiful sound that makes it all worthwhile. The climbing wasn’t bad; occasionally it would jack up to 5-6% but was mostly 1-3%.

I decided to split the remaining ride to Chambers Lake into two days as I’m worried about elevation. Two days ago at our campground in Rustic, I was feeling nauseated and had a headache. It seems to be better but no need to rush and have an unpleasant experience. 

New flower: Rocky Mountain Penstemon
Heart 3 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillAcclimating - and hydrating - will be very important. Trust me. I didn't and had a very bad experience on the Long's Peak Trail.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Eggers Fishing Area
Heart 1 Comment 0
I like the various trout but I don’t understand catch and release.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Peter says Henry gets super alert before I get close. Then when I get there I get the overwhelming Henry greeting. 
Today was a good day. We’re at 7151 feet. 

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 2,065 miles (3,323 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonInteresting about Henry. I wonder how far way he can sense your presence, or if he just knows the time has come.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Julie O’NeillHope your body is adjusting to the elevation.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago