Day 53 Briggsdale CO to Gateway Park - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2023

Day 53 Briggsdale CO to Gateway Park

Peter and Henry dropped me off west of Briggsdale where I finished yesterday. It’s a beautiful day. The route went through the town of Ault, traversed fields of crops as well as large pastures of grazing cows. 

Do I see mountains on the horizon?
Heart 4 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltYes, mountains in the distance WITH snow!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Old lumber store in Ault
Heart 1 Comment 2
Mike AylingNot much inventory in the yard.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Mike AylingMaybe a supply chain problem. Like the hitch jacks.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
New flower -spider flower
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I was approaching Fort Collins I saw a new crop. 

Barley I think
Heart 2 Comment 1

I crossed the north side of Fort Collins and got on the Poudre trail. This city has an extensive trail system; no wonder it’s a platinum bicycling city. 

A park on the Cache La Poudre River where a lot of folks were having fun playing in the water
Heart 1 Comment 2
Ed SpeareYou were just a Mike or two from Jim White's place, if you remember him (Red White's prodigal son. We stayed with them a few years back when we did trios to zmontans timing in with drives to Salt Lake Vity for Suzy's Stamping conventions for demonstrators. He later stayed at our cabin with us for a few days when he went fishing in Wyoming with his horse and trailer. Quite a character!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleWhat? I was near Jimbo? My first kiss? (I think we were 4 years old) Where does he live?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
A more isolated part of the trail
Heart 3 Comment 0
Fields along the western portion near the terminus
Heart 3 Comment 0

After the trail ended, I meandered back to highway 14 which is now Poudre Canyon Road. I stopped at Ed’s Place (more like an intersection) and called Peter. He was on his way to a return a hitch jack he bought for the trailer which didn’t work. He pulled in to the gas station where I was and we decided I would keep riding and he would meet me at Gateway Park. when I got there, it started raining. I wanted to go further but there’s no cell service in the canyon so I just waited. At least it wasn’t cold like the rain in Stoneham. I was amused watching all the kayakers and rafters on the river below. 

Just before the rain. Weather changes quickly here.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Julie O’NeillThis is a very striking photo! Views like these are your rewards. Carry on!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleI’ve really enjoyed the changing scenery. And the sounds. And the smells (especially in the Midwest with the newly cut hay and honeysuckle).
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

We went out to dinner at the campground restaurant as Peter had had a very frustrating day. The problem is that you can’t buy a good hitch jack as they’re on back order everywhere. But you need one to raise the trailer to get it on the truck hitch. He bought a car floor jack to use as back up as the hand crank isn’t going to last. Tent camping would be simpler but I don’t know of a tent big enough for Henry. 

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 2,039 miles (3,281 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Nancy HornikThe idea of Henry in a tent?! Along with Peters back is the setting for an accident waiting to happen!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Julie O’Neill1998 MILES!!!!!! You are rocking this adventure.
So. Impressed.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago