Day 1 Georgetown to Violette’s Locks - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2023

Day 1 Georgetown to Violette’s Locks

After two more attempts at locating mile 0 of the C&O trail with multiple GPS apps I just had Peter drop me off 1 block from the beginning of the actual trail.  I was so exasperated that I decided not to back track to find mile 0. Big mistake. If I had I would have discovered the Capital Crescent Trail which is paved. Instead,I followed the C&O through Georgetown. This is a brick “trail” that dips down from each cross street and then rises to the next cross street where the visibility of crossing obstacles on the sidewalk as well as the street are extremely limited. Mind you, these blocks are extremely short. After much up and down and up, cross the street and repeat, I noticed a paved trail on the other side of the canal. I crossed over, and voila!: the Capital Crescent trail! I followed this for a (too) short distance until it joined the C&O which by now had transitioned to dirt and rocks.  Lots of rocks. After leaving the city, it became much more pastoral with sometimes rushing water of the Potomic on the left. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

 

I did see multiple geese with their goslings as well as a fox which I wasn’t quick enough to get a good photo of.

Heart 1 Comment 0

When I arrived at Violette’s Locks, I found Peter and Henry waiting for me. I also met Dennis the dentist who kindly tried to help me set up an Instagram posting for my journey. Sorry Dennis, I’m a poor student but it was great meeting you!

Heart 6 Comment 0

We returned to Woodbridge, where Suzy and Ed treated us to dinner at a fantastic Mexican restaurant.  Peter was born in Mexico and loves Mexican cuisine and this was authentic! A great day!

Onward!

Today's ride: 22 miles (35 km)
Total: 22 miles (35 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0