Venice - I'm here! - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 8, 2023

Venice - I'm here!

I arrived bright and early this morning and I am thankful I was able to get some sleep on the plane.  I've got a full day ahead of me!  I am also thankful to see that my bike and gear arrived.  I don't have the best luck in that department.

I asked to borrow a guys phone so that I could call the hotel and see how the shuttle worked and if they were able to come and get me.  No problem, I just needed to wait about 30-45 minutes.  Fine by me.  I'll just pull out my handy camping chair and wait.  

Was able to check in early to my hotel, got a few minutes of rest before walking over to both camping Venezia village and camping Rialto.  In part I picked this hotel, knowing I'd likely switch to camping the second night.  Well, I decided to keep the hotel for my second night after all.  I didn't want to be rushed to get my bike put together or have it interfere with my one full day of Venice sightseeing tomorrow.

But hey, no time like the present, so after a shower and a short rest, I'm off to explore Venice once again - 31 years later!

Only a few friends knew that I was flying into Venice.  It got to the point where I changed my mind so often, I said I wasn't going to say anything until I was on my plane ready to go.  Well, I made them wait a little longer.  I found it very amusing to see this out of my hotel window!!!  

To my friends, "despite what it might look like out my hotel window, the answer (of where I was going) is not Ireland either."
Heart 1 Comment 0
I'm here!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Venice has always been my favorite city in the world that I have visited.  It might still be.  I caught the Vaporetto to St Marks Cathedral.  It's a boat that transports people around the city.  They were so crowded every time!  Mine went along the very busy Grand Canal.  I'm going to blame it on being overly tired, but I choked up and a teardrop almost fell as I was just taking every moment of the scenic boat ride in.  I didn't take many pictures as I just wanted to BE in the moment, not angling for the perfect shot.  I can't believe I am here again and the significance of returning was so sentimental and magical for me.  I am so happy to be back doing what I love most.

There were a few more tourists than there were 31 years ago.  What can I say?  Mostly I just walked around and enjoyed being here.  My foot hurts, it was a little humid, and I'm tired (jet lagged) so I only stayed a few hours.  I have all day tomorrow.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
St. Mark's Cathedral Square
Heart 1 Comment 0
St. Mark's Cathedral (I will not be going in. I went in and explored previously and really, the lines are just too long.)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of my favorites
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gondolas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
It's a little busy down there!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rialto Bridge. A pretty hopping area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first gelato. I found it hilarious that the girls head sat right on top of my cone!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0