Venice and Murano - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 9, 2023

Venice and Murano

The hotel sold me a 48 hour pass which includes unlimited rides on the buses and vaporettos for $35E.  Easy to use.  I spent another morning exploring Venice before deciding to take the boat to Murano island - famous for glass making.  It was a much calmer scene there and I really enjoyed it.  Didn't do any factory glass making tours, but the pieces were beautiful.  The line for the boat to the next island, Burano, famous for lace making, was ridiculously long so I skipped that.  

Shall we talk about the weather rolling in?  It's not good, which I knew before I arrived.  Had thought about catching the train to Rome, but weather there is not any better.  "Red" warnings for excessive rain tomorrow and "yellow" warning for winds.  Uuuugh.  Given that, I'm moving over to Camping Rialto and rented a "glamping" canvas tent that will be much better than being stuck in my little tent.  Needless to say, this option lines up with my budget life a bit more, but still overpriced.

I put my bike together this afternoon and all seems good.  Whew!  Afterwards, I headed back to Venice to see it in the evening and did some people watching.  I wanted to grab a bite to eat at one of the cute cafes, but in the end, I settled for gelato.  Gelatos. Is. Delicious.  

It's been a beautiful sunny day.  Enjoying it while I can....rain is coming....

Heart 1 Comment 1
Debbie MooreWhat a beautiful scene. I hope to make it there someday.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
The side view of St Mark's Cathedral
Heart 0 Comment 0
St Mark's Cathedral
Heart 1 Comment 0
St Mark's Cathedral
Heart 0 Comment 0
Next to the cathedral. A cool clock. I saw it ring and there's a stone statue of a man at the tops that hits the bell with a hammer
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have this same picture from 31 years ago. I think my last one turned out better!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Creating some waves. Earlier on this boat, all of sudden I feel a big "splat" of water hit my head. A wave had come up through the open window. Only got of me, but some other tourists found it quite funny as well.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Murano glass kitties chasing butterflies. There are times I wish I wasn't on a bike so I could buy souveniers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm really liking Murano!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Murano glass display. One of the less fancy ones, but you can get an idea
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I liked this decrepit little house
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A taxi boat. I wanted to take one, but I knew they were more expensive. Looked fun though!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wonder how many "boat accidents" happen
Heart 0 Comment 0
Goodbye Venice! A little less enamoring than my first visit, but I still love you! I'd love you more if I was here with a boyfriend, ha ha
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0