Tivat to Camping Maslina - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2023

Tivat to Camping Maslina

Lots of dead animals on the road today.  Traffic has actually let up a bit for which I am very thankful.  I also got a nice whiff of the smell of fragrant flowers.  I love it!  Offsets the roadkill.

Went over a brutal hill today.  I stopped about 1/2 way up.  I saw a cyclist coming up behind me, and it ended up being another solo lady from Canada, Tara.  I had just gotten off my bike to start pushing.   We ended up talking for quite a bit and then I decided I could go ahead and ride the rest of the hill.  I think this may have been the one I actually just counted pedal strokes. I have noticed that sometimes if I don’t look at the actual steepness of the hill and psych myself out and just focus on counting and keep on keeping my feet spinning I do better. Whatever works to get me up the hills.  😂

A bag of rocks. Literally.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lots of them!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I haven't seen many cows this trip. Moooooooo!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tara, from British Columbia. She's been biking all through the Balkan countries.
Heart 0 Comment 0

No one me told me there was a tunnel on this route!!  (Before Budva.). There was a sidewalk, but at one point, it was so narrow my handlebars lodged between the wall and the railing.  😂  Briefly considered going back, putting on lights, but I would have died.  Traffic is a nightmare!  I inched my way through walking and then it got wider again.

This was the easy part. Things changed when the sidewalk went into the tunnel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A little on the narrow side. My knuckles even scraped the wall at one point.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is more like it!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Later in the day, current situation:  Budva, Montenegro

And this is REALLY more like it!
Heart 1 Comment 0

An actual beach with SAND.  About to enjoy a lunch break enjoying this fabulous view.   Already had ice cream.  😀 

I was a bit sad I hadn’t stayed there last night and thought about staying because it looked like fun, but decided to keep going. 

The ride leaving Budva was a little hillier than I was expecting.  I aimed for a campground at the bottom of a hill.  I’ll go ahead and save the climb out of there for the morning when I have fresh legs.  On one of my breaks I saw two trucks go by in a row.  The first guy was talking on his phone, the second guy appeared to be texting.  I just lost confidence in “these guys know what they are doing.”  I won’t get run over.” 

Looking back at Budva. My kind of place. Kind of sad I missed an overnight there.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wonder what that is down there
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Loved the yellow flowers brightening up the mountainsides
Heart 0 Comment 0
And finally, going down. Zoom zoom!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Great campground for a bargain price!!  Lots of shade.  I did go down and went for a swim as well, but the wind had picked up.  However, the best thing about this campground is they have a public ice machine.  I am in heaven!

I see my climb for the morning. Doesn't look too bad. (Famous last words.)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home sweet home
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A short walk back to the main road where there is a good grocery store
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 549 miles (884 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0