Shkoder - rest days/week - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2023

Shkoder - rest days/week

A very lazy 1.5 weeks

I've spent a week and half in Shkoder.  The first few days I actually didn't leave the apartment much.  I just enjoyed my down time.  Part of that included getting a much needed pedicure and some eyebrow/lip waking.  Girl things.  I had a bit of an uneasy experience at the first salon I tried, but I found another just down the street and they were fantastic.  Total cost, $20E + tip (and that's for gel nails!)  Why can't it be that cheap in America!!!

The great salon I went to for some self care
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hot pink, never mind my suntanned feet!
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltTiger feet? :-)

Similar to mine
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltIt’s a very “special” look 😂
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a bunch or route research to do.  I finally went out for a quick ride on my bike one day to see Mesi Bridge.  It was very cool.  The water below was crystal clear and people were swimming in it.  And by people I mean guys.  I only saw one little girl, otherwise all guys.  I wasn't planning on going swimming anyways as I had my bike, but it would have felt awkward.

NOT Mesi bridge, but the view is spectacular!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The more you know....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Follow the yellow brick road. Except it's not yellow and it's not brick.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very uneven cobblestones
Heart 0 Comment 0
What a great place to sit and enjoy the view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ever since my original flight to Rome had to change because of my lack of passport issue, I knew I'd be heading south down the coast when I really needed to end up in central/northern Europe.  I did a bunch of research on Lake Garda and the Dolomites, two sections I really wanted to do.  My original (award) flight is out of Paris, but I saw a lot of availability out of Frankfurt.  Even with revising my route and hopping on at least 2-3 trains, the trip was going to feel rushed and stressful trying to manage trains/luggage by myself.  Low and behold, Condor airlines flies out of a bunch of Greek cities as well, connecting through Frankfurt.  After a full day of researching connections, I have something booked out of the Greek island of Corfu.

So this means, I am now spending the rest of my trip in Albania and touching into Greece.  All along I thought this might be the case of what ended up happening.  I mean, I likely won't be in this area of Europe again anytime soon, so I thought I'd make the most of it.  It also means, I am going to climb up into the mountains.  Anyone notice that hill climbing really isn't my thing? 🤣 I'm just going to take it really slow and easy and hope for the best.  I'll head up to Lake Ohrid before making my way back to the coast.  Wish me luck!  (I also reserve the right to change my mind!)  Update:  I Changed my mind.  I'm sticking to the lower route.  Still plenty of hills for me to climb.

Went out for another ride to see Lake Shkoder.  I suppose when it's not hazy out, it's a really spectacular view.

I actually was going to head to this castle first, but missed the entrance. Since it was scorching hot out, I decided I better head to the lake or I wouldn't go.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beautiful, even with the haze
Heart 0 Comment 0
Can you imagine investing to build a house/restaurant and then not finishing it? Sad
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of a kind
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going back towards Montenegro
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wonder what this is?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wildlife sighting! Birds!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pink flowers to enhance the views
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think this is actually the river leading towards the lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
On my way back - the local park. See the sheep dog laying down on the job? 🤣
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
A mini castle?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool looking fountain
Heart 0 Comment 0

I've really enjoyed this week of downtime and not having to worry about anything except planning the rest of my trip.  Huge thanks again to Chuck and Susan for making this happen.  I am super grateful!  Now, time to hop back on my bike!  Ha ha.  I said that a few days, but then the temperature spiked up quite high so I stayed a few more days.

This is such a cool display! Chuck and Susan have all their guests leave their handprints in the entry way
Heart 1 Comment 0
I may have had a little bit too much fun with this! 🤣
Heart 1 Comment 0
Glory wanted to leave his paw print too. It's legit! He even dipped his paw in the paint too!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now, my journal is current.  Any bets on how long that will last?!

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 601 miles (967 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0