Monfalcone to Trieste - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2023

Monfalcone to Trieste

Finally made it to Trieste today.  Boy, am I glad I didn’t go to the campground last night because I was “tired.”  I would have had my first climbs of the trip and I assure you, I would not have been happy. 😂

 It was a short 20 miles so I was in no hurry to leave the hotel.    I started out in shorts, and decided to take a break at a bus shelter as a few raindrops were starting to fall.  And then a few more.  On go the rain pants and jacket.  I rode the coastal highway and for the most part it wasn’t too bad in terms of traffic.  The shoulder could have been better as at times it disappeared, but the only time I got a little worried was going through a cool tunnel.  I just waited until there were no cars coming and hurried through.

What the heck up on the cliff?!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I felt like playing “connect the dots” with all the buoys 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tunnels are always fun. Hope there’s not an earthquake as I ride through!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Thanks goodness I am not going up THAT hill! How does a car even make it?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Many, many ships on the horizon. Trieste has a big port
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I see Miramare castle in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped at Miramare Castle as there is suppose to be an amazing park and gardens.  I wouldn’t know though because they had it closed for the day due to high winds.  The lady told me it was too dangerous.  I was disappointed, but I also don’t want a tree falling on me.  I still had fun checking out the outside of the castle.
 

Miramare Castle
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Does this mean I am royalty now?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
You can see where I pedaled from
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Side view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I can see the snow covered, I’m assuming, Alps in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice to get off the road for a bit heading into Trieste
Heart 0 Comment 0


After a bit I continued into Trieste.  Hostel prices are high, but not as high as they have been.   I stayed at Hotello hostel in a female dorm.  Yes, the place is noisy, but that’s what eat plugs are for.  What I was not impressed with was taking a shower and having the entire floor flood.  Yes, that’s normal in Africa, but not here.  I was also not impressed that I had to take my bike a couple of blocks away and pay another $5E for storage.  To their credit, the Electra bike shop was was amazing.   The young gal gave me a list of affordable places to eat and sights to see and in general was just friendly.  

I showered and went out for a quick exploration.  It’s so incredibly windy.  I am not a tiny person and I felt like even I was getting blown about  a little bit.  It was that strong!

Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m taking the windblown hair look to a whole new level 😂
Heart 2 Comment 0

Came back to the hostel and went to dinner with a couple of other gals.  Our first two restaurants we tried were closed and I was not impressed with where we ended up.  Very limited selection.  It was nice to be out with the others and we shared a lot of laughs.  One of the gals also showed us a couple of sights I wouldn’t have even known about.  That was nice.  Also nice to finally be out after dark when the areas roar back to life as Italians eat a late dinner.  


Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWow - that's one WEIRD bike!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
My hostel friends and I went to dinner and exploring
Heart 2 Comment 0
My new ride?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My photo explaining this arch was blurry, but the arch is still nice - and I believe very old
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s kind of a huge building!
Heart 3 Comment 0
I should wander out at night more often. I everything lit up is so pretty.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A sundial type thing.
Heart 1 Comment 0



Taking a rest day tomorrow because the weather is back to being extra sucky!!!  And ya, moving over to a different hostel as it has better reviews and is just a bit cheaper.

Just me, hanging out in front of Miramare Castle.  Does this make me royalty now

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 222 miles (357 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0