Day 26 - ending at Republic, MO: with pick-up to Springfield, MO - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2016

Day 26 - ending at Republic, MO: with pick-up to Springfield, MO

The alarm woke me up at 5:20am. Checked the weather radar. Rain is coming. There’s a canopy here, so I decided to get packed first, and get the gear over there. There are conical holes on the ground under the canopy. I believe they are ant lions, if my childhood memory of a page from my Golden Guide of Insects is correct. At the time, I thought they were the neatest insect in the book, but I’d never seen one before. And here were lots of them! Back to work. Front tire repair was next. Didn’t find anything to cause a flat, until I had it apart. The liner was starting to split, causing abrasion on the tube. I cut the bad end off the liner, and taped the new end with Kapton tape. I considered leaving the liner out, but I think it’s what is keeping this Indiana-worn tire from popping. Stopped at 9:00am for breakfast: toaster pastries. Finally ready for my final day at 10:19am, after covering the cargo with plastic.

Took off east on the frontage road (County Road U), which curved north after a mile. Looking like rain ahead, and it started before I got my rain gear on. My maps were inaccessible under all the plastic, so I was relying on GPS maps to get me through to Mount Vernon. I turned east on Dogwood Road, then curved north and east. Came to an old building by a cemetery that has an interesting history. Another jog north put me on CR-2110. I was seeing markings on the pavement near intersections: “MS” with an arrow straight or for a turn. That gave me some confidence that these roads would get me through. Later, I had more assurance, since fiber optic installation crews were working along the road. What amazed me the most, is that all these backroads are paved.

Rain was off-and-on, keeping me busy taking-off and putting-on my rain jacket. At noon the rain stopped just long enough to record the mileage: 8.0 miles. I came to a “Road Closed Ahead” sign, so stopped to figure out which way to go now. A passing pick-up truck stopped, and the driver pointed out the two available options. The one I took was two miles south on CR-1080. The sun was out now. What a joy for me to find out that I could get my rain pants off without first taking off my rubber boots! Ahead, I turned east onto a road I’d been on in 2013. It has one short gravel section, then back to pavement. The bike was slipping some again, and I was disappointed that I had to walk up the gentle slope where the road was next to the freeway.

I followed Loop-44 into Mount Vernon, looking for the Red Barn Cafe, a place I’d eaten at in 2013. Arrived at 2:01pm. I wished later that I’d gone with the waitress-recommended smaller-portion Chicken Fried Steak Dinner, but I ordered the larger meal. Very good - and filling. After three root beers, I had the waitress fill my Klean Kanteen with ice instead. This cafe also has a bakery- the Hen House Bakery. I have never seen such large sweet rolls before. And the pies are ridiculous, also. I see they have special large boxes for them. Outside, before I left, I happened to notice that their electrical service box was being overtaken by vegetation, since the cover was off, laying on the ground. I went ahead and detached the vines and re-installed the cover.

Getting out of Mount Vernon at 3:18pm was a challenge. First, the bike hardly got me across the highway during a break in traffic, it was slipping so much. Then I had to get back across on the east side of town, to get on a frontage road. I walked it across that time. The frontage road has a sight incline. Slip, catch, slip, catch, slip. This wasn’t fun. Finally ended up walking, which must have looked strange to passersby. I may have a problem here. And it’s starting to rain again. Back on with the rain pants.

Arrived at MO-174 at 4:00pm. The rain had stopped. East to Republic. Not a wide shoulder here, but enough that I could stay right of the rumble-strip white line. A nice scenic road, but my thoughts were elsewhere. I wish I knew for sure that it’s the hub slipping, and not the near-bald tire. I couldn’t tell by trying to look myself. If it was the tire, I could get a motel room in Republic, and change out the tire. Finally I decided to stop, get off the bike, and stomp on one pedal. No doubt now, it’s the hub! I may be through here. Well, let’s see if I can get to Republic, anyway, and beat the rain behind me.

I did make it to town, with a lot of walking, at 6:24pm. The rain started as I approached downtown. But many of the businesses have awnings. I parked under one to make a decision. I was nineteen miles from Bill and Laurie’s house. I don’t want to keep them up all night waiting for me. I was trying to balance my goal with some wisdom. Throughout the trip, I received offers by-way-of email from Laurie to come get me. Seven offers in all, between August 19 and September 7. It was time to let her rescue me. First, however, I wanted to find a place to get a cold drink, and a park pavilion. The smartphone came in handy for that. Casey’s straight north on Main Avenue, then east a ways to J. R. Martin Park. Casey’s was very busy, but I was able to get the quart of chocolate milk I wanted. On to the park. There’s a nice pavilion here (away from the road a ways), and that’s where I called Laurie - at 7:12pm. She was on her way when I decided I’d have been better off downtown, where the truck could be pulled up right next to the awning. I called Laurie back, but got her cellphone voicemail. I left the message for my new pick-up location, and made my slow, slipping way back downtown.

I unpacked the bike, and was ready for Laurie’s arrival. It’s so nice being in a dry location when it’s raining hard. I received a call from Laurie that she was by a park pavilion, but couldn’t find me. I gave her directions, as best as I could, being she didn’t know which way was north in the rain and darkness. Add that it’d been nine years since she’d driven a manual transmission vehicle, explains why she was so relieved to pull up to the curb in front of me. It was nice to see her. Loading up went quickly, then we’re off with me driving. What a strange feeling to go fast! We were both kind of lost, but stumbled onto the correct roads needed to get to Springfield. One stop before we arrived home: Burger King for carryout supper for us and Bill. I just wanted a shake, and tried a Dr Pepper one, which Laurie treated me to.

“Home” at 9:23pm. Bill rigged up a clothes line in the garage for my wet rain gear. Some conversation around the table, then a shower. Answered some email messages and then to-bed, at 11:20pm. My day was done. My trip was done!

Jeff

Spent: $13.89 plus $3 (lunch) + $1.97 (chocolate milk) = $18.86.

Day 26 - Sarcoxie, MO to Republic, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ pavilion near lake at Beagle Bay RV Haven & Campground - Sarcoxie, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
looking back west at I-44 from CR-2130 - Lawrence County, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ pavilion in J. R. Martin Park - Republic, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 1,087 miles (1,749 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0