Day 25 - ending at Sarcoxie, MO - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2016

Day 25 - ending at Sarcoxie, MO

Posted via email Thu Sep 8 05:58:02 2016 PDT

Woke up at 5:53am, in room 115 of the EconoLodge, just before the alarm went off. Went to the lobby at 6:35am for breakfast. Back at my room, I couldn't spend much time on writing yesterday's report, since I had a flat rear tire to fix. Found the leak in the tube using the "bathroom sink filled with water method". No problem found with the tire, though I'm still pulling thorns out. Once I got the wheel back on the bike, I noticed some slop in the hub, so took the wheel back off and tightened the hub, just a little, with the special tool I have for doing that.

I decided I'm through with trying to camp at any more canoe rental places. My last night on this trip was to be at one. I gave some thought to changing my route/schedule, and here's what I came up with. Today head north to Sarcoxie, and get out of these hills. That way I could also take advantage of the south wind. Then, the next day (Thursday), make it all the way to Springfield. It's predicted to rain Thursday. Maybe I could beat the rain.

So, relying on my maps, I took off at 10:28am, back down the hill the motel is on. Then north on Business US-71. Nice shoulder here, and a Sonic ahead. Stopped there at 10:44am to try their breakfast as my lunch. Added my leftover Dr Pepper ice to the motel ice I had in my Klean Kanteen. The bike fell over as I was walking it off a curb, grabbing the attention of everyone around.

Recorded noon mileage (6.8 miles), then sat down for a break in the shade of some trees at 12:04pm. This was at an intersection near Goodman. The breeze was here, and with my ice water, I cooled off. Called my friend Jim while I was there. I told him about the problem I was having with the bike. I noticed leaving the motel this morning that I couldn't get shifted into high gear. Yesterday, I could get into high, but it would slip, and I would have to go back to low for traction. Something to check out when I get back home.

The town of Neosho was ahead, and my map indicated a place there labeled "Big Spring". That might be interesting. It was a downhill curve into town, and ahead I saw a True Value hardware store. I know they have tubes, so stopped there at 1:13pm and purchased one. Now, to find that spring. Up and down side streets got me first to downtown, then to the spring (at 2:05pm). It's cool. Water flowing out an opening at the base of layers of rock. The town has made the area into a park.

I left the park at 2:27pm, but was stopping again at 2:33pm. I was out of ice, so purchased a cupful and a Gatorade from the Conoco gas station/convenience store I'd passed. Finally on my way out of town on Business US-60. This highway doesn't have a shoulder, but traffic was light. Arrived at the intersection with MO-59 at 3:20pm, and merged onto it. Great shoulder here. South wind, and clouds were now blocking the sun. A fun ride north.

I'd decided, looking at the map, to take Newton County Road J east when I got to Diamond. I did that at 4:18pm. This road was a little busier - and hillier - than I had expected. But it went OK.

At 5:27pm, I turned north onto Tiger Road. There'd been bad clicking sounds coming from the rear hub now and then, and they continued as I proceeded on this road. Seemed to be more so when I was coasting. The bike was still moving forward, anyway. Crossed, at mile intervals, Cherry Road, Beech Road, Aspen Road, and Newton Road - the county line. A turn right at the next road - Apple Road - would get me to Sarcoxie.

I arrived downtown at 6:30pm. People all around. They were getting ready for (or maybe closing down) a carnival. I found it interesting that Sarcoxie is the oldest town in Jasper County.

East and north a ways, and across I-44, brought me to Beagle Bay RV Haven & Campground at 6:50pm. I was having a hard time steering as I turned into their gravel drive. Turns out the front tire had just gone flat! Another perfect-timing flat!

I'd been at this campground before - in 2013. This time I set up in the primitive camping area, away from the highway, and by a pond. Rain is predicted for tomorrow. There's a shelter here, but it looks like rainwater would collect there on the ground, so I set up in the open. This faithful tent is due for retirement. The poles are splintering, and there are zipper problems, but it set up OK for this one last night.

Received a call from my sister Laurie. She offered to bring my single-speed to me, but I'd like to see if I can make it back with this bike, which should probably be retired also.

Jeff

Spent: $5.27 plus $1 (lunch) + $7.54 (tube) + $3.03 (Gatorade, ice) + $12 (campsite) = $28.84.

Day 25 - Anderson, MO to Sarcoxie, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ outside room 115 at EconoLodge - Anderson, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ this curb at Sonic tripped my bike! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Big Spring - Neosho, MO +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Big Spring Park - Neosho, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 1,047 miles (1,685 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0