Day 22 - ending near Nowata, OK - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

September 4, 2016

Day 22 - ending near Nowata, OK

rode on Pathfinder Parkway

Posted via email Mon Sep 5 06:48:02 2016 PDT

Up and moving at 5:20am, thanks to the smartphone alarm, which is now getting kind of annoying. Checked out of the motel at 7:43am. Headed back west far enough to see that Murphy's Steak House wasn't open. Turned around and rode east. There was another eating place ahead, but it was also closed. I didn't absolutely need breakfast, after my steak dinner last night, but it'd probably be my only chance today for a restaurant meal.

Today's route includes a trail in Bartlesville first, then roads south and east, then back north a ways to get to Double Creek Cove southeast of Nowata. All planned at home to keep me off no-shoulder US-60.

I gave up on finding a cafe, and headed toward the Pathfinder Parkway trailhead. Looking back toward downtown, I saw a bunch of parked cars. That only means one thing on a Sunday morning: a place to eat! Sure enough. Weeze's Cafe, in this case. They were busy. I sat at the counter, and was joined by a regular. I knew that when the waitress set down a shaker of NoSalt in front of him. He was an older fellow - a Korean and Vietnam veteran. An interesting person to talk with.

Breakfast filled me up, now on to the trail. I arrived at Johnstone Park -where the trail begins - at 9:00am. I walked north some to check out the park, which has a Kiddie Park, a train depot, and an oil well replica. Back at the bike to start riding at 9:10am.

It was a very pleasant Sunday morning, with a cooling southeast breeze. Riding this paved trail was fun. Only one steep hill, which had me - and a girl - walking our bikes. Near the end of the trail was a place to pick up a "Pocket Guide Trail Map". I may have missed a little of the trail at the end, for once I was in the suburb south of Jo Allyn Lowe Park (at 10:30am), I headed toward US-75.

Three miles south into the wind on this double-lane, no-shoulder highway. Every single vehicle went to the inside lane to pass me. Nice!

I arrived at my left turn onto W2400 Road at 10:55am. At 11:25am, I was replacing PN-60 batteries and taking a break, after getting up a hill. None of the hills today were too bad, except that one on the trail.

I was on N4020 Road going south when it was time to record the noon reading: 17.5 miles. Turned east again (onto E2070 Road) at 12:13pm. Ten-plus miles ahead for me on this quiet, straight road. Enough gentle hills to keep me awake. Took a few breaks in the shade of the trees along the way, and arrived at US-169 at 2:03pm.

A mostly coasting ride north three miles on a wide shoulder brought me to my turn east on 24 Road to Double Creek Cove. Arrived at the park office at 2:50pm. Ten dollars for a site with electricity and water. Fifteen minutes later I'd chosen campsite #10 as the place to set up.

After the tent was up, I went back to the office on the empty bike to see if they sell firewood. They don't. Next I rode to where I could see Oologah Lake better. I noticed piles of wood along the road that were left after an apparent flood. I gathered up some of the wood and placed it in my baskets. Only two pieces fell out on the way back to my campsite.

Suppertime at 5:10pm. Then I called my wife. We talked for half an hour. I'm looking forward to seeing her in a week. Next, I started my campfire. My collected wood didn't last too long, but I hadn't expected it to. I was working on report picture selection when I received a dinner invitation from a young man from campsite #6 (the next occupied site uphill from mine). I told him I'd had my supper, but I would enjoy one of the cold drinks he was offering.

We walked over to a mini-refrigerator sitting outside on a table, next to an RV. What a selection! I took a cold black cherry soda. So good! I met some of the group of about twenty. They were fixing me up with places to sit here or there. Then someone shoved a plate in my hand. Well, I guess I have room for a little. The selection of food was like you see at a church potluck. Homemade and very good! After continued insistence, I also ate a brat, all fixed up with condiments. We talked as we ate. They're all one extended family - from kids to senior citizen. I told them some about my trip and where I was from. I heard about their family, and places people work at around here. Many commute to nearby bigger cities.

They'd made me part of their family, just like that! Oklahoma hospitality! One fellow's birthday is today, so a cake celebration followed supper, but I left at that point, despite protests, so as not to intrude too much.

Back to report-writing at my picnic table. Mosquitoes were coming out as it got dark, so I moved into the tent. Kept at it until I almost fell asleep. Tomorrow is another day. Good night.

Jeff

Spent: $10.87 plus $2.50 (breakfast) + $10 (campsite) = $23.37.

Day 22 - Bartlesville, OK to Nowata, OK
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ inside room 114 at Budget Inn - Bartlesville, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Nellie Johnstone #1 Derrick (replica) - Johnstone Park, Bartlesville, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Memorial Bridge - Bartlesville, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ "YOU ARE HERE" means I made a wrong turn! - Pathfinder Parkway, Bartlesville, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ my driftwood campfire at Double Creek Cove - Nowata County, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 899 miles (1,447 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0