Day 21 - ending at Bartlesville, OK - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2016

Day 21 - ending at Bartlesville, OK

Posted via email Sun Sep 4 04:40:03 2016 PDT

Another morning wake-up without the alarm. This was decided last night after I looked at the map. This was supposed to be a long-distance day (for me): 64 miles. That's unrealistic for me in these hills, so I decided to split the route in half. Bartlesville is in the middle. I'll get a motel there, have a shower, and maybe get laundry done. About thirty miles from Lake Pawhuska to Bartlesville, so that's why I slept in (until 6:13am).

Going on 7:00am, I was standing on the road next to the tent, writing an email to my sister Laurie, since I was getting some cell signal there. Then I felt it. An earthquake! What a strange feeling. The metal gate behind the tent started rattling. It was intense (in a relative sense) for maybe fifteen seconds, then just a rumbling vibration on the road for another forty-five seconds. I checked my watch: 7:03am. So cool! A little more news to add to my message to Laurie!

I was back in the tent when I heard someone walking by. We exchanged greetings, and I got out so we could talk some. This fellow looked my age, but he's actually much older - later seventies. He's a Pawhuska resident who rode his bike out to the lake. Now he was going to jog around the lake. I let him get to it, and went back to report editing. He made it around the lake, then we talked some more, and I checked out his bike. It has a front bag, lights, and electronics that could be used on a tour. He has the right tires and bike gearing also. He's thought about touring. I think he's closer to being ready than he thinks. He offered that we could ride to town together, then he'd buy me breakfast at his favorite place to eat - the deli at the back of the grocery store. I wasn't near ready to leave, but thanked him for his offer. This is the first offer I've had on any trip for a paid-for meal. Friendly Oklahoma! As he left, I had the feeling that he might sit at the deli awhile, waiting for me.

I packed up, then checked the bike's tires. The rear was soft. Inspection revealed a truck tire tread wire. I could hear air leaking as I removed it. I carefully noted its location on the tube, but could not find the hole, which wasn't leaking at all now. A self-healing tube? I couldn't figure it out, but needed to do something, so I just used my other (last) tube, and got on with it.

Took some pictures, and was finally ready to go, at 10:28am. There's a neat stone house here by the lake, but it needs some work on the inside.

I arrived in Pawhuska at 11:00am, and the grocery store at 11:18am, after taking some pictures of the town. I was too late for breakfast, and my friend wasn't there. After hearing its description, I ordered an Indian Taco, and a Dr Pepper. I wanted to get my journal address to my Pawhuska friend, and the deli employees took my note to pass along. They all said what a nice person he is. I already knew that!

Back at the bike, I transferred my carry-out Dr Pepper/ice to my Klean Kanteen, recorded noon miles (5.0 miles), and continued east on US-60. One more stop before I left town for good - for four bags of peanuts from the Kum and Go.

Beautiful day, and beautiful shoulder to ride on. At 1:35pm, I stopped next to a cell tower to call my friend Jim. The call wouldn't connect. I'm thinking I was too close to the tower. Later I got through, and left a message.

At 2:50pm, the road's shoulder went to nothing. Not too bad riding at first (it was flat), but later, at a curve-to-the-right, uphill behind-trees section, I was concerned. Made it OK. After a very fast downhill, the wide shoulder returned (at 3:30pm). Just then, I received a call-back from Jim. Perfect timing, for now I had room to stop. I was by a bridge, so sat down on the guard rail. A wrecker truck pulled up and the girl in the passenger's seat handed me a bottle of water!

Later, one more downhill, and I was in Bartlesville, at 4:28pm. Proceeded on down the highway to Budget Inn. Checked in and bought an Orange Crush from the machine outside. Seeing they have laundry machines here, I took a shower, then washed the dirty clothes.

Next on the agenda was to walk back west two blocks, to Murphy's Steak House. Arrived there at 7:35pm. They were busy! I sat at the counter, and was promptly waited on. Salad, ribeye steak, mashed potatoes, and decaf coffee is what I had, along with a free bowl of ice cream. Also received a free to-go coffee. I noticed that on the backs of all the employees' tee-shirts is printed "Gravy Over All!"

Back in my motel room at 8:30pm. Report-writing time. It's 10:30pm now, and I'm falling asleep. But that's OK, since the report is done!

Jeff

Spent: $4.88 (breakfast) + $2.18 (peanuts) + $40 plus $5 (motel) + $1 (Orange Crush) + $3 (laundry machines) + $22.85 plus $5 (supper) = $83.91.

Day 21 - Pawhuska, OK to Bartlesville, OK
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ eat-here area in back of Pawhuska Hometown Foods - Pawhuska, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a new section of US-60 - Osage County, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a break and a gift bottle of water at US-60 bridge over Buck Creek - Osage County, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ my supper salad at Murphy's Steak House - Bartlesville, OK +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 864 miles (1,390 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0