Day 13 - ending near Kingsdown, KS - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 26, 2016

Day 13 - ending near Kingsdown, KS

Posted via email Sat Aug 27 10:53:02 2016 PDT

Rain arrived here from the south at 2:30am. It came with no wind, and the tent stayed dry. It was still raining at 5:20am, when I got up. There was a break at 6:25am, then more rain. Not a big deal; I stayed in the tent, working on the report.

During a lull, I took all the gear to the nearby pavilion, and got the tent down. It started raining again while I ate ginger snaps and packed the bike. Covered everything with plastic, but once again, it turned out to be an unnecessary task.

It was 11:56am when I pedaled away from this great campground. A short time later, I was at Midway Park, where Edwards County Historical Society's Sod House and Museum is located. I checked out the Santa Fe locomotive, and took a picture of the Midway sign. I hadn't planned - and didn't have time- to go into the museum, but I did anyway. It is very nice. The display of Kansas statehood stamps reminded me of the first time I saw them while stamp collecting as a child. The fact that orange paper was used to make the stamps made them memorable. I said farewell to the pleasant curator at 12:30pm, and made my way onto US-56.

Noon mileage report: 0.25 mile.

My destination today was Clark State Fishing Lake, south of Kingsdown. A long ways away for such a late start. I was making fair time, with a side wind on the wide shoulder. Arrived at Offerle Country Store at 1:28pm, and stopped for lunch. A nearby building has a nice mural. Left at 2:05pm, on west to Spearville.

Lots of wind generators around, and more under construction. When I arrived at Spearville (at 3:30pm), I checked out a roadside information set-up on the wind generators. On into town, I stopped at the IGA store for a 32-ounce Powerade. At 4:00pm, I was at the south side of Spearville, ready to tackle the south wind and dirt roads - if they were dirt roads. Fortunately, these country roads were paved.

I rode over Coon Creek - the same creek by last night's campground - at 5:09pm. Turned onto US-400 at 6:21pm, after passing by the biggest cattle operation I've ever seen. Came to the Arkansas River four minutes later. Not a lot of water to be seen.

Arrived at Blue Hereford Restaurant and Blue Hereford Stop at 6:39pm. It had been my plan to eat at the restaurant, but I didn't have time to spare. So, it was supper food from the "Stop": a cherry pie and chocolate milk.

Off south on another paved country road brought me to Kingsdown at 8:05pm. Stopped there near the Presbyterian church to send out an email. One last stretch south - eleven miles on KS-94 - a highway built solely for getting to Clark Lake, it appears to me. And what a beautiful highway! Smooth, flat, and all mine. This was definitely a ride I'll remember. Stars out, and storm clouds to the northwest. Blinky red points of lights from wind generators to the east. My headlight was working well, and illuminated a very large bird just before he lifted off the road. When the road turned west toward the lake, I noticed lightning in the northwest storm clouds.

South some more, then west, for an incredible curvy decent. I'd have coasted full-out, but didn't want to out-run my headlight. My rear hub was still warm ten minutes later.

Arrived at the end of KS-94 at 9:27pm, and found a place with a picnic table a little farther on. By 10:40pm, the tent was up, with gear inside. The stars are just amazing here tonight. And there's heat lightning.

I didn't give any thought to starting the report tonight, I just wanted to go to bed, which I did at 11:15pm.

Jeff

Spent: $8.23 (lunch) + $1.50 (Powerade) + $3.33 (supper) = $13.06.

Day 13 - Kinsley, KS to Kingsdown, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Steve H71My great grand father had a cook stove similar to this, but not near as fancy. Grandma made me cookies on it.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ U.S. Turbine Capacity map at Kansas City Power & Light's information kiosk - Spearville, KS +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Kelly's Corner Grocery - Spearville, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ St. John the Baptist Catholic Church - Spearville, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ lots of cows at Ford County Feed Yard - Ford, KS +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ tonight's supper from Blue Hereford Stop - Ford, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ almost sunset on 125 Road north of Kingsdown - Ford County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the stamp in my childhood collection +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 554 miles (892 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0