Day 14 - ending at Ashland, KS - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 27, 2016

Day 14 - ending at Ashland, KS

Posted via email Sun Aug 28 11:50:02 2016 PDT

Wind rattling the tent woke me up at 4:15am. It calmed down by 5:00am. Worked on pictures, then took a nap from 6:00am to 7:00am. Breakfast at 7:15am. Now I'm awake enough to work on the report! Moved the bike across the road to a shady spot, plugged in the smartphone's 12-volt adapter, and sat on a parking stop log. No cell signal here, so saved email report, and packed up. Left at 12:30pm.

The plan today was to get around the south side of the lake, to roads heading west to US-283. After that, south to Big Basin, then east to Ashland. What I didn't realize, is what a challenge it would be to get out of this lake canyon. First, walk back up the KS-94 hill I flew down last night. That was accomplished by 12:50pm. (Sent report in from here.) Then south on a dirt/gravel road back into the canyon, even lower than I had been, since it was below the dam. A lot of walking, even downhill.

I was finally standing on the west ridge, after 2.8 miles. It was 2:10pm! The cool breeze up here was appreciated. Now west, with a one-mile jog south. Wind farm work and workers all around here. One truck passed me then stopped just ahead. He got out and walked to the front of his truck. When I got to him, he said be careful, there was a rattlesnake in the middle of the road. I didn't see it.

After a while, I noticed dark clouds to the south. The radar indicated rain. Figures. The wind was blowing pretty good from the southeast. I may have to prepare for rain, but not yet.

At 4:22pm, I arrived at US-283, and the start of a slow push south. I'd see how far I could go before getting the rain gear out. Arrived at the north junction of US-283 and US-160. I'd been here before, in 2013, and kind of wanted to turn west toward Meade. But the plan was to continue south, and that's what I did, arriving at Big Basin at 5:53pm.

OK, now it looked like time to get the rain gear on. That took forty minutes, picture-taking included. Meadowlarks sang to me while I worked. On south a short ways, and I was at the spot to get to St. Jacob's Well in Little Basin. I'd regretted that I hadn't had the time to see the well in 2013. Even though I didn't have the time now, either, I was determined not to miss my second chance.

One concern is that there are bison in the refuge, so I kept a careful lookout while I proceeded along the gravel road on the bike. When I made the final turn to the top lookout area for St. Jacob's Well, I saw fresh evidence that the bison had been here not too long ago. There they are, on the hill just beyond the well! I think I'll be OK. I parked the bike and made my way down the path. There it is! Not the cleanest water, thanks to all the debris that's fallen in, but it is water. Some of the bison seemed to be heading back this way, and others were heading toward the path back out of here, so I didn't linger.

I was safely back by the highway at 7:48pm. Even though the storm to the south and east had shown me part of a rainbow, and plenty of lightning, I'd had enough of sweating in this rain gear, so took it off.

Now, to get to Ashland. Left Little Basin at 8:09pm, and was at the south intersection of US-283 and US-160 at 8:29pm. From here, Ashland is eleven miles east on US-160. With lights on, I made my way down and up some red hills. The storm south was still going strong, but staying to the south. Things leveled out some, and I passed Ashland's city limit sign at 9:43pm. What a welcome sign!

Arrived at the Red Hills Motel at 9:47pm, and was in room 13 at 9:55pm. Wanting something to eat, I rode back west a few blocks to the Red Hills Kountry Store, for donuts and milk (they were out of chocolate!). Supper, a shower, and in bed by 11:55pm. Oklahoma tomorrow!

Jeff

Spent: $41.79 plus $5 (motel) + $5.25 (supper) = $52.04.

Day 14 - Kingsdown, KS to Ashland, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking west to where I'm heading - Clark State Fishing Lake, Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ on South Lake Road near top of dam - Clark State Fishing Lake, Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ I caught a butterfly! +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ ignoring the sign near the spillway exit - Clark State Fishing Lake, Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ climbing out of the canyon - Clark State Fishing Lake, Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ I made it! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the road not taken (this time) - US-160 to Meade +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking southeast from road to Little Basin - Big Basin Prairie Preserve, Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ corner post for fence protecting St. Jacob's Well - Big Basin Prairie Preserve, Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ just south of St. Jacob's Well - Big Basin Prairie Preserve, Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking south from road from Little Basin - Big Basin Prairie Preserve, Clark County, KS +
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 598 miles (962 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0