Day 10 - still at Lindsborg, KS - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2016

Day 10 - still at Lindsborg, KS

Posted via email Tue Aug 23 20:52:02 2016 PDT

My alarm was set for 4:20am, but I was up at 3:48am. I wanted to get an early start. Of course, that was an early start on writing yesterday's report. I was thinking as I sorted pictures - - - my planned destination for tonight . . . wind direction . . . rain chances . . . predicted high . . . will there be time to eat . . . I WANT A NAP! By 5:30am I'd decided to stay here another day.

At 6:10am, I left my motel room for a walk downtown for breakfast. Arrived at The Old Grind. This place is more "coffee shop" than cafe, but they had a few breakfast items. I had Breakfast Casserole, Pecan Roll, and coffee. I went on a tour of the town after I was done eating.

Lindsborg has a Swedish heritage, and it shows all around. After a picture of City Hall, I headed south to the mill next to Smoky Hill River. East of there is a closed highway bridge. Closed for about two years now, according to a fellow walking his dog. It'd take half-a-million to get it back open, he said. I was quite surprised to read that I was standing on a former highway that once connected Winnipeg to Mexico City!

I walked some on the Valkommen Trail to get back to the motel (at 8:40am). Shortly after, I paid for another night's stay. Then, nap time! From 9:45am to 11:15am I was sound asleep. Now I can function!

At 4:20pm, sitting outside on a bench, I started in on de-thorning the original (for this trip) front tire. I quit on that at 5:20pm, riding the empty bike back towards downtown. I'd noticed a hardware store this morning, and their Tuesday hours are 9:00am to 6:00pm. They might have 26-inch tubes. YES! They have two widths, with or without sealant. I purchased two of the wide ones without sealant.

I asked the store worker about a good place to eat supper. She said at Farley's, at the end of the block. That's where I went. I had an open-faced roast beef sandwich and coffee.

I did a little more site-seeing on my way back to my room. I got a little lost, but definitely knew when I was going south (into the wind).

Here at 6:45pm, I turned the bike over for tire inspection. No debris, but in the sunlight, these tires sure look worn. The back tire was at 43 psi, and the front at 42.5 psi. I pumped them both back to their limit (45 psi). Then, I finished de-thorning the now-spare tire. It was a pleasant evening for sitting outside while I worked. Interesting clouds, and birds flying by in flocks. A worker staying here next door showed up and asked questions about my bike and trip. Later, inside the room, I wrapped the spares back in orange plastic tape. That's to keep rain water out of them, but I also believe it helps increase my visibility.

At 8:20pm, I walked across the street to Casey's for a Dr Pepper. On to report-writing, which I've just finished. Maybe . . . I will actually get an early start tomorrow! Still have to get the bike reloaded, however.

Jeff

Spent: $11.77 plus $2.50 (breakfast) + $57.74 plus $5 (motel) + $13.12 (tubes) + $14.45 plus $3 (supper) + $1.20 (Dr Pepper) = $108.78.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ don't mess with this rock! +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ where I would have been camping if I hadn't been so tempted to get a motel room - Old Mill Campground in Lindsborg, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking north along the Valkommen Trail - Lindsborg, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0