Day 11 - ending at Great Bend, KS - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2016

Day 11 - ending at Great Bend, KS

Posted via email Thu Aug 25 05:50:03 2016 PDT

Up at 6:00am, thanks to the smartphone alarm. I must admit, its default alarm tone is pleasant. Ran to Casey's across the street for coffee (French vanilla) and little snack squares, just beating a bit of rain. My planned early start was slowed down by having to cover the cargo with plastic. Well, I'm ready now, at 8:00am!

Rode to the southwest side of Lindsborg to get to KS-4 going west. There was a line of rain to the south that would eventually catch up with me, but for now, it was dry.

Passed the road to Marquette at 9:21am. Shortly after, I heard my first meadowlark for this trip. I love the songs that bird sings!

At 10:25am, I passed the junction with KS-141. The rain was close now, and started on me as I pedaled up a hill. At the next turn-off, I'll put on my rain gear. The pull-off, just before KS-4 curves southwest, turned out to be a Kansas highway road material storage site. I had to sit down to get my rubber boots on, and there was a good spot here for doing that. The rain had stopped for the moment, but I didn't trust that it was done. Ready to go again at 11:03am.

I was on-and-off with my rain jacket, but, in the end, wouldn't have had to bother with any of it. It never did really rain. I took off all the gear at 12:25pm, where KS-4 crosses 22nd Road.

Backing up, the noon mileage was 22.4 miles.

Arrived in Geneseo at 1:08pm. Stopped at the Geneseo Mini-Mart for lunch. My wife won't believe it, but I ate some macaroni and cheese!

I was back on the road at 1:38pm, and passed the road to Bushton at 3:28pm. I didn't know Bushton was so "in the middle" of Kansas!

At 4:20pm, I made my way onto the expressway-like interchange loop to get onto KS-156. This highway, though two-lane, has an expressway-wide shoulder! Midday, the wind had changed direction to from-the-northeast. I was enjoying its full effect now, heading southwest.

At 5:20pm, I arrived at Cheyenne Bottoms Wildlife Area. I went across the road to the visitors center, which had closed at 5:00pm. As I was looking around, an employee heading for home came out, and told me some about the place, and how bad it was a few years ago, when there was almost no rain. That changed one night, when they received nine inches, all at once! It didn't seem like there was a lot of water here now, but I guess it's enough, for I saw some birds.

Coasting on, I arrived at the intersection with US-56. My original plan was to camp at the primitive camping site at Cheyenne Bottoms, but I wanted to take advantage of this tailwind. So, I was thinking now I'd try camping at one of Kansas' roadside parks. Fort Zarah Roadside Park was just ahead. Well, no restrooms here, and the weather radar is showing rain to the west. I think I'll try another motel night.

The ride with evening traffic through Great Bend was a challenge, but I made it to Travelers Budget Inn on the west side at 7:34pm. There's a Braum's across the street. After getting the bike into my room, I walked over for a carry-out supper. This time, a more reasonably sized Braum's supper!

Took a shower, made a pot of decaf coffee, and almost fell asleep after I started work on the report. That bed looks so inviting. I checked it out at 11:00pm. Very nice! Zzz . . .

Jeff

Spent: $3.70 (breakfast items) + $7.65 plus $2 (lunch) + $45.65 plus $5 (motel) + $6.47 (supper) = $70.47.

Day 11 - Lindsborg, KS to Great Bend, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
+ room 121 of the Viking Motel - Lindsborg, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ just entering Cheyenne Bottoms State Wildlife Area along KS-156 - Barton County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Kansas Wetlands Education Center - Barton County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the KWEC Garden has plants to attract bees and butterflies +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 452 miles (727 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0