Mechanical trouble and some nice people: Adapting to an unexpected delay - Summer Adventure 2011 - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2011

Mechanical trouble and some nice people: Adapting to an unexpected delay

Kim writes:

As John describes below, we had to deal with a mechanical problem on his bike. We tried to make an on-road repair but weren't having much success. I called Mike at my LBS in Port Orange, FL (Bob's Bike Shop). He directed me through further troubleshooting, diagnosed the problem, and said that we'd have to take it to a bike shop. Thank you, Mike!

Needless to say, we lost a day of cycling so will stay in lodging tonight.

Our lodging for tonight. Great dogs too -- Zeus, Harley, and Chopper.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Nearby restaurant for tonight's dinner and tomorrow's breakfast.

I think we'll sit in the Non Smoking section
Heart 0 Comment 0

John writes:

Today turned out to be a pretty crappy day. Maybe I should've expected something when we awoke to the worst mosquitoes and coldest temperatures of the trip yet.

North Country Campground
Heart 0 Comment 0

Anyway, we dried everything out from last night's thunderstorm and got on M123 North. However, about three miles north of the North Country campground, the bearings in my rear hub assembly shit the bed!

"Broke Down"
Heart 0 Comment 0

Kim and I eventually flagged down Dan in a gigantic RV, and he took us back to the S & J bike shop in Newberry. There are still good people in this country.

Loading up for the ride to the bike shop
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our luxury ride back into Newberry
Heart 0 Comment 0

While S & J fixed my bike, we treated Dan to lunch at the Falls Hotel. After saying "good-bye", we picked up my bicycle and it was like brand new - thanks to Steve having gutted HIS VERY OWN BIKE to get the part that he needed to fix mine!!!!

Front sidewalk repair. Cool!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'll say it again: there are still good people in this country. Kim and I ended up spending the night in Newberry, and we'll try again tomorrow.

Today's ride: 6 miles (10 km)
Total: 606 miles (975 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0