Introduction: Ready for another break from everyday life - Summer Adventure 2011 - CycleBlaze

Introduction: Ready for another break from everyday life

Kim writes:

A while back I mentioned to John my plan to ride across the country in the summer of 2012. Turns out, he's always wanted to do that as well, so we decided to ride together. Then we agreed that first, a shorter trip (700-900 miles) would be a good idea, so here we are. In preparation, we also went on a couple of 2-3 day practice tours.

We live five hours apart and this will be the longest amount of time we've ever spent together. Uh-oh! Two months of togetherness. Since we both really like having our own space, this will be quite the test.

Oh, and the cross-country ride is moved to 2013 instead, because in 2012 we're going to watch the Summer Olympics, tour London, see Stonehenge, and visit Ireland. How's that for planning ahead!

John writes:

I am a bicycle touring virgin. It used to be that I'd be driving down the highway and see these guys on laden-down bikes struggling along . . . and I would think "you poor bastard. Waddya - crazy?" Now I want to become one. I have been cycling for 26 years, but I'm no Lance Armstrong. My mileage total has been accumulated in 20 mile rides on Saturday mornings or in 2.5 mile rides to the gym. I hate headwinds, hills, gravity, and unchained dogs.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0