Three days in Venice--the narrative - Fibonacci Scribble - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2022 to June 24, 2022

Three days in Venice--the narrative

I realize I just left things hanging and then posted my Venice photos.  Here's the narrative that should have gone with them.

We headed into Venice after breakfast, leaving our packed bags at the Crowne Plaza and taking the backpack and small duffel Al had used as carryons on the plane (the backpack stuffs into its top pocket and came along for the tour so we'd have it for hikes and grocery runs).  On the train, I tried to bring up the directions to the B&B I'd booked and it took me a while to realize I'd burned through all the data included with my eSim.  Too much photo uploading, I guess.  The directions had been sent via Booking and now I couldn't access them, but at least I had the address.  Al led us using Google Maps and we got there without too many wrong turns.  Our room wasn't ready but we could drop our bags and access the wifi so I could get another eSim to last me the final few days.

Then we just wandered and looked.  We returned to our room for a break from the crowds and the heat and went out again in the evening.  Being able to go out early and late and hide during the afternoon is perhaps the best reason to actually stay in Venice--plus there's no traffic noise!

On the second day, we bought two-day transit passes that meant we could ride vaporettos as much as we wanted, instead of paying 7.5€ every time.  We sailed across the lagoon to Murano and bought some gifts but it was too hot to contemplate watching glassmakers create their works.  After our afternoon break, walked from our B&B in San Polo south through Dorsodouro and had dinner at a restaurant on a deck over the water.  Later, we walked along the shoreline and to the outlet of the Grand Canal and boarded a vaporetto for a budget cruise up to Piazza Roma and back.

On the morning of our last day in Venice, I got up early and went out to take some photos, as I'd done on the previous day.  Al decided he needed to sleep more (we're in Venice!  How can he do that?) and we went out for breakfast when I got back.  We decided to take another vaporetto cruise on the Grand Canal as it was really too hot to do much else and there's always more to see.  We went right to the end of the line on the Lido.  After lunch, we took the train from Venice back to the Crowne Plaza Quarto d'Altino to rest before an early shuttle to the airport.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI’m glad to hear you made it over to Murano. We went there on what of our earlier trips when we were still buying souvenirs and bought a beautiful glass vase!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago