The Scribble - Fibonacci Scribble - CycleBlaze

The Scribble

a proposed route

I've been researching and developing a route in fits and starts until now, when I think I've finally got a plan.  Including some day rides, the total is about 2700 km.  Divide that by an average of, I don't know, 70 km per day (we won't be carrying camping gear but there will be hills, but not every day...) for around 38 riding days.  Add some non-biking days and I think our time budget of 8 or 9 weeks will be okay.

Next step will be to fine-tune that a bit so we can book our flights.

Toscana (with a day or two on Elba), Liguria, Lombardia, Piemonte, Dolomites, Venetia (but not Venice)
Heart 0 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraLooks like a fantastic trip. Can't wait to follow along. You'll love the hilltop towns of Tuscany.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetI've wanted to go since I read Sean Kane's journal some years ago.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Scott AndersonHow funny. This looks very similar to an early scribble of the route we’re planning for the coming fall, but in the reverse direction of course.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Patrick O'HaraWonderful to see you an Al back on the road again. I am looking forward once again to be living vicariously through the lives of people like you and the Andersons. When you are around Cortina d'Ampezzo (and if you have time and energy) you must do Passo Fedaia and Passo Giau. Take care!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Patrick O'HaraIt's funny looking at your route. Sue and I have been to some of the same areas as you are planning. Looks like your route from Lake Como to Bolzano is the same route we took a few years back. Looking forward to reliving it again! Tail Winds.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Patrick O'HaraThose are both in the plans (such as they are).
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Patrick O'HaraI suspect it's pretty popular since I found it in the Lonely Planet Cycling Italy book. Sadly, the book is out of print...
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Patrick O'HaraWe have the book if you want to borrow it! I can easily mail it to the Island.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetWe are actually in Burnaby, not on the Island. I currently have the book from the New West Public Library (renewed 4 times!) since Burnaby PL seems to have disposed of theirs. (It was there last summer but has been gone from the catalogue since September.)

I plan to scan the rest of the book before I return it. I scanned several chapters when I had it out last fall.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Patrick O'HaraI forgot to thank you for the offer! I'll keep it in mind if NWPL disposes of theirs.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago