Route for 2022 Scribble - Fibonacci Scribble - CycleBlaze

Route for 2022 Scribble

Now that we are retired, we determine the route and then calculate how many days to allow between our outbound and return flights.  It's a little different than when we were working and had to work our a route that would fit into our allotted vacation time, often relying on a train to close the loop.

It seems to me that everyone here in BC is experiencing cabin fever to some degree and I suspect we aren't the only ones.  Since Al and I are not planning to camp on this trip, we decided that prebooking as much of our accommodation as possible would be best, as long as we could do that with free cancellation and no deposits.  And to book accommodation, we need to know where we will be.  Result:  a fully developed route. 

Part 1 Toscana, with day loop rides from Siena, on Elba, and from Castelnuovo di Garfagna.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Part 2 Liguria, with a break for a little hiking in Cinque Terre. Just one day, though, because Vernazza is the most expensive accommodation of the trip.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Part 3 Piemonte, with a couple of short day loop rides from Alba to recover from two previous long days.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Part 4 Lombardia, with day loop rides from Cannobio and Varenna (following Scott & Rachael Anderson's tour backwards) and finishing with a possible crossing of Passo Bernina (preferably with a train ride up). There's an alternate route up the valley to Bormio.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Part 5 Trentino-Alto Adige, with day loop ride of the Selle Ronde and maybe something else and a visit to see the Iceman exhibit. That blue line is two days; accommodation yet to be found.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Part 6 Veneto, some more day rides, a hike at Tre Cime, and a couple of days in Venice.
Heart 1 Comment 4
Steve Miller/GrampiesYou never forget how to ride a bike, but you can forget how to plan and map routes! After two years of no touring, things are getting fuzzy for me. Your detailed lines suggest you have a .gpx behind each. And the coloured segments - I seem to recall that Google Mymaps can do that, also a program I also seem to recall: 'GPS Track Editor". Anyway, how did you do these maps?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Steve Miller/GrampiesHi Steve

I use RideWithGPS to create routes on my laptop at home. I have a premium subscription which allows me to do advanced editing, see a heatmap, and create routes on a mobile device. The free version allows you to create routes and transfer them to a gps device and there's a "basic" subscription in between.

I've learned and finessed my route mapping over the years, learning from past trips. My current method is to create a route for each day's ride and, if I book accommodation, edit it to start/finish at said accommodation.

I like RWGPS because it offers various map views--the basic "map" so I can see something I can relate to and find on my paper map, OSM cycle so I can see if there are official cycling routes in the region, and, best of all, street view, so I can see if the software is trying to send me down (or up) a goat track. I edit my route to avoid such things, to stay on a main road where the algorithm is trying to take me off for a short distance just because it can, etc. You can do all this on the free version, I think.

The premium version lets me create an"event" or group of routes which is what the screenshots are. Each individual route in the "event" shows up a different colour.

I then sync these routes to my Garmin Edge 810. I can then load one as a "course" so I have a line to follow on the map view with no cues. I hate turn-by-turn directions but I was riding with friends last week who had loaded the route I'd created on their (newer) Garmins that beeped at them whenever I, leading, decided to go a slightly different way. I distinctly heard someone's phone telling them that a turn was coming up--I suspect that belonged to the IT guy in the group.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Jacquie GaudetAh, RWGPS. I think it must be a little like the Apple computer with a one button only mouse. If you think, you can do everything, but it may not be obvious. What am I blithering about? Every other route planner I know provides space for the names of the "from" and "to" locations, and the intermediate stops. Start typing something, and suggestions pop up, indicating that the software knows what (where) you are talking about. But RWGPS laconically just says "Enter a location" and "GO". Type "Duncan", and there is no hint if it thinks you are an idiot for mentioning Duncan, or if it is right with you and just waiting for you to actually ask for something.

I feel like the idea of RWGPS route planning is that you should be clicking on the map. So if you are starting at Mill Bay and want to end at Duncan, you should really know where Duncan approximately is. Reasonable? Maybe. But what if you want to go to a specific address or a specific Motel in Duncan, but can not spot it on a map without help?

Am I revealing some kind of massive ignorance or blind spot here?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetIt’s actually pretty good in that it’s connected to the OSM database. I just enter the name of the hotel or B&B I booked, hit go, and it drops a pin there with a “start route here” or “route to here” option depending whether I’ve got a route already on the map. If it’s a town or village, just the name will work.

Unlike the other cycling mapping websites I’ve tried, rwgps has actual tutorials available and fantastic customer service — in English and in our time zone.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Rachael AndersonYou’re going to love being retired. Looks like a wonderful trip!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Patrick O'HaraCongratulations on your retirement! What an excellent looking itinerary! You are going to love the Lakes District, and the Dolomites are dyn-o-mite! Sue and I are also eagerly looking forward to 2022, to resume our touring as well. I'm sure, like us, you are both 'itchy' to get travelling again. Our routes may cross next summer!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Patrick O'HaraActually, I've been retired since the end of 2018. French Fling (https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/france2019/) was my first and so far only post-retirement tour. I don't count the little get-me-out-of-the-house local trips, and even those have been stymied this year due to the pandemic, weather, and our impending move.

Perhaps, Patrick, we can meet up sometime this winter in Vancouver?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonLooks like a fantastic itinerary. Some country we’ve seen, some we’d love to see but have never made it to. Don’t miss that hike to Tre Cime - it’s really unforgettable, if I’m remembering right.

So when are you really leaving? CB thinks you’ve been on the road for three months now, ever since May 1.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetThanks for letting me know. I've fixed it now, I hope. May 1, 2022 is the day we get on the plane at YVR.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetSo how long is the tour, and when will you get to the Dolomites? I’ll bet the snow on the peaks will be incredible still.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetWe leave Florence on our bikes on May 4 and get to Bormio on June 4. The flight home is June 25. The total time away is just under 8 weeks. They will be pretty full weeks but only a few are big loaded days.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Jacquie GaudetHi Jacquie. Whenever you are in Vancouver, let me know. Perhaps a ride and coffee? I think I have about three years of teaching left in me before my own retirement (early). Sue and I are looking forward to our tour next summer. We are both itching to get away on a tour, as I'm sure you are Al are. Take care.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesHey Jacquie, I am trying to send you an email but the address I have for you is not working. Can you email me at shadybrook@shaw.ca so I will receive your good address? Steve
Reply to this comment
2 years ago