Oct 23 - Rovinj to Pula: Nothing but blue skies, do I see - Hvala: It's Been Thirty Sweet Years (Tour 16) - 2016 🇭🇷 🇸🇮 🇮🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 23, 2016

Oct 23 - Rovinj to Pula: Nothing but blue skies, do I see

Apartment Top Centar, Pula

THE weather can be like a box of chocolates when your eyes are closed. Who knows what you end up with.

The rain woke me up a few times in the night because it was pouring out. Crap.

I ate my apple, orange and had my juice, then loaded the bike in what was still a sombre semi-dark morning. As it turned out, it is because it was so early, and because the buildings were clenched together much like in a Dickens description. Were they huddling from the cold, the rain or the sea, I will never know, for when I broke out of the buildings to the sea wall, the sky directly overhead was a beautiful and deepening blue colour. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of the direction I was heading. For, to the south the sky was an indigo blue and looked something fierce. Obviously the rain in the forecast.

Where yesterday I had to travel way inland to get around the fjord, today was to be fairly direct as I headed along the coast to the furthest most southern point of this cycling adventure. After Pula I would be heading somewhere northish or northeastern-ish. I did not want to re-trace the very same pedal-stokes I had just accomplished and yet the distance over the time I have left is a little bit tight considering that I will be taking my first day off from cycling tomorrow to give my legs and sit-down areas a rest. The latter needing it much more than the former.

The terrain was rolling hills through lots of olive groves, fig trees, some vineyards and a number of what I think were hazelnut rows. The trees that use up way to much water from what I understand. Interestingly, along this entire route, unlike Spain and Portugal, there were no pigs at all, no cattle and no more sheep or goats either. Strange. Were they all at church?

The best thing of the way was that as I continued to approach that mean sky, though the wind was quite strong from it, the clouds continued to recede into the southern distance. The sun was out the entire ride, though everything, including the road, was drenched. The humidity was really high today so nothing could dry.

My sitting area was really happy when I saw the sign for Pula though I still had a few km to go to reach the old centre. Then all of a sudden there it was. The Roman amphitheatre from the 1st C AD. Right there beside me in all its glory. And was it glorious. In great condition and huge. Imagine that - people have seen that there for two thousand years. Mind-boggling, really.

Mr. GPS soon had me right to the door of my apartment so I messaged the owner who had his father here within twenty minutes to let me in. The owner and his parents are all lawyers, and now they rent the first floor of their building with the second floor with their offices. And what an apartment. Huge, fancy, modern, beautiful, and reasonably priced at about $90. I cannot remember why I chose this one, but am glad now that I am spoiling myself after a week of tough cycling.

I spent the afternoon exploring the old centre with its numerous Roman ruins. They are great to see - otherwise, the city is ok, but nowhere near as picturesque as some of the other towns this past week. The owners also suggested that I visit Opatija and not Rijeka so that will be my next destination after my day of rest. I checked the bus times and prices and it seems I can bring my bike onto the bus (in the hold) and for less than $40 CAD I will be zipped to what the owner called a 'gem' of a town the day after tomorrow. As it turns out, that day is supposed to be raining cats and dogs so will be a good traveling day. I just hope that the bus terminal is close to the room I booked this afternoon so I don't get soaked for nothing.

The owner had also suggested the restaurant Pompei so I tried it out - calamari to die for. The place is in the top 10 on Tripadvisor's list of Pula restaurants and they were all right. In fact, I will return tomorrow for dinner - the fellow who served me said that the fresh fish is always really good. Since I did come here for seafood...

Now back at the room, I am hoping my device will work to allow me to watch the Formula 1 race in the US. I had the channel working earlier, so here's hoping.

As you head toward the harbour, suddenly right beside you is this amazing Roman amphitheatre. I am told that some believe it is more impressive than in Rome
- Pula, Croatia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Waiting at the door of my accommodations for the owner to arrive to let me in.
- Pula, Croatia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Roman gate to the old town.
- Pula, Croatia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Roman Amphitheatre
- Pula, Croatia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just poking around the streets looking for more Roman ruins.
-Pula, Croatia
Heart 0 Comment 0
My awesome apartment
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
My awesome apartment
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Temple of Augustus
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
The only glass of white wine I had on the entire trip - because I had ordered calamari. It was a delicious local wine.
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Roman triumphal arch
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Temple of Augustus
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 235 km (146 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0