Oct 22 - Poreฤ to Rovinj: Will fig schnapps REALLY give me energy to climb back up that hill? - Hvala: It's Been Thirty Sweet Years (Tour 16) - 2016 ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ท ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น - CycleBlaze

October 22, 2016

Oct 22 - Poreฤ to Rovinj: Will fig schnapps REALLY give me energy to climb back up that hill?

AN early morning alarm of classical music on the bass. Awesome. It began right on cue at 7 am though I was awake already. Yes, I would love to have stayed and listened, but my legs were itching to pedal into the morning. The weather network told me that though it was only 9 C, the sky was and would be clear all day.

I loaded up the bike after having the rest of my blueberry-apple juice, carried the bags downstairs then got into a wee bit of a panic when I could not find the key to my lock. I looked everywhere in my bags. Nada. I zipped back into the room, and there it was sitting on the desk. I swear it was not there when I left the room. The owner must have slipped it in when I went downstairs or something. Ya, right. 'Or something' is more like it.

I took it really slowly on the slippery limestone blocks. I have fallen on it in the past and don't want to end the trip with a smashed head or arm. Soon I was onto regular paved road and away I went into the rising sun. Gotta love it.

My route was taking me inland quite a piece because of the big fjord that cut way inland. I stopped at the top to take some photos of the beautiful views well as one of the booths selling trinkets, honey, olive oil, wine, fig brandy and other goodies. The woman running that booth said I would need some energy to climb the other side of the fjord - so here I was at 10:30 am having an ounce of fig schnapps. She wouldn't let me just have a taste and motioned for me to swig the whole thing down. The only thing is that I really must admit that it was delicious so I only wanted to sip it so I sould taste it all. Then she proceeded to cut me a little slice of cheese with truffles. Oh my GOD, talk about a flavour made in heaven. If this combination didn't give me energy, then I could just lay down and die right here they were soooooo good.

Now, I am not sure if it was the schnapps and the cheese that did it, but after these days of tough cycling, the long hard climb was not all that bad. I only stepped off of the bike a few times to rest my legs. In no time at all I was up to the other side of the fjord and onto missing my proper turnoff.

Are you wondering if you read that right? I am sure you are. Yes, yours truly mis-read his gps and though the highway sign clearly indicated Rovinj, I headed past assuming that MY turnoff was ahead and much better. About 500 m further along I thought that this could not be so, reset my gps, and sure enough it told me to 'go back the other way, silly'.

The turnoff from the highway had some construction, but for the most part it was a nice long downhill into Rovinj that swept into the old city right at water's edge where there was a view across the water of many old buildings clinging to the side of a hill with the tower poking up in the middle of things somewhere above. Beautiful, and in the water below were some actual working fishing boats with fishermen bringing in the catch of the day.

Having re-learned how to use my gps, it almost led me to the correct address. At least to the proper street, but things did not look quite right, and when I asked someone about the address, they pointed back the way I had come. This is when I remembered that I had booked this place through Airbnb rather than booking.com. I have found that the gps coordinates for the latter have been exact to the door. Lesson learned to key in the actual address when I use other sites.

When I got to my place and rang the bell a woman stuck her head out the window a few floors up and said blah-blah-blah-blah and pointed around the corner. I asked if she wanted me to place the bike around the corner and she nodded and closed the window. I moved the bike around and came back to the door and waited for her to come down and let me in. And waited. And waited. Half an hour later I buzzed the door and the same head popped out of the same window. I asked about bringing my bike in to which she blah-answered again. So I said bike and pointed to the door - she finally came down and continued to 'blah' until I asked where my room was. 'Aaaahhhh', she said. She walked over to where my bike was and opened the door beside it. Foolishly, I had not realized that blah-blah-blah meant that my room was the green door around the side of the building and I could put my bike inside the closet-sized room with me. Got it. She was actually really nice, and we both laughed about not understanding each other.

With the bike tucked away I went to find a restaurant and had spaghetti with prosciutto and cheese, with some local Istrian wine and got some snacks at a local market for the morning. I was needing a nap, so refreshingly in a place with no wifi, I continued to read until I dozed off. In the evening I was not really hungry, so went for a few evening harbour photos, but the lighting was not that good, and it was cool and windy. Probably bringing in the rain as per the forecast.

One of those mornings that clearly shows why I am passionate about cycle touring.
- between Poreč and Rovinj, Croatia
Heart 0 Comment 0
"The Lim bay and valley is a peculiar geographic feature found near Rovinj and Vrsar on the western coast of Istria, south of Poreč, Croatia." (Wikipedia) The "fjord" I had to descend and re-ascend. It made the route a lot longer, but the beauty of it was well worth it.
- Lim Fjord, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Be warned, I am racing down this mountain and have a lot of baggage!
- Lim Fjord, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Before racing down the hill and struggling up the other side, this booth operator assured me that her fig schnapps would give me energy for the ride. It was delicious, too, despite the fact that it was barely past breakfast time!
- Lim Fjord, Hrvatska
Heart 1 Comment 0
My tiny room was about the size of a shoe box, yet cute and cozy. I slept like a baby.
- Rovinj, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beauty of the Adriatic. The water is incredible and this photo really does capture what the eye sees.
- Rovinj, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view of the old town.
- Rovinj, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
First glimpse of the old city of Rovinj, Croatia.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Across the fishing boat filled harbour from the old city Rovinj, Croatia.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The street in front of my accommodation in old Rovinj. Without the gps and asking, I never would have found the place.
- Rovinj, Croatia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walking past the myriad shops, cafes and bars as I circled old Rovinj, Croatia.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Though more touristic on this side of the old city, there are plenty of working fishing boats amongst the tourist boats.
- Old Rovinj, Croatia
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the water a few twisted walkways from my accommodations.
- Old Rovinj, Croatia
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 km (25 miles)
Total: 193 km (120 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0