Sunday Nov 30: Agueda to Coimbra - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 30, 2003

Sunday Nov 30: Agueda to Coimbra

For most of the night, any time I woke up I could hear the rain falling. Yesterday when I checked the forecast in the paper it called for sunny with a few clouds, so when I got up this morning to a day with the heaviest rain yet, I was thrilled. I think I have it figured out... When they call for a few clouds they mean rain with wind in any cyclist's face. When they call for rain they mean lots of rain with wind in any cyclist's face. When they call for sun they mean probably rain and if there is any wind, it will face the cyclists. Maybe I exaggerate, but after three solid days of pouring rain, I am a bit ready for SUNSHINE before I go insane!

There was nothing too exciting about today's ride. The roads were kind of tricky, since they kind of alternate between allowing cyclists then not allowing them. Each time I come to a sign that denies access to cyclists, I have to use my extra-super powers to try to figure out which way to go at the roundabout. You see, more often than not, the roads are not signed, so if you are not from the area, it is really hard to figure out where to go unless you find someone who knows. So far I have been very lucky and have found people every time so I am happily on my way.

About 16 km from Coimbra my front tire was making 'psssst noises. When I stopped and checked, I could see a piece of glass right in the middle of the tire, through to the tube. So, I stopped to fix it, and all seemed well. Then, 1 km from Coimbra, there was a funny noise from my rear wheel. I looked down to see my tube sticking out the side of my week-old tire. I quickly deflated it before I had a ruined tire AND tube. Fortunately I had my spare tire from last week and quickly fixed it. Now, these problems were with two brand new tires. Strange. Maybe the god of flat tires is afraid of me finishing my route and is trying to stop me. Well, I conquered him for the time being.

Once in Coimbra I got a bit lost but I found my way. I just turned the right way, and there was my hotel, as I found out a bit later, formerly a storage building for olive oil. Tres cool.

I wandered around the old town, climbing steep hills and bumping into ancient churches, and possibly Roman ruins. It really is a pretty town. For lunch I went to a restaurant to have one of the place's specials of goat cooked in red wine and garlic. It was to die for. It tasted like roast beef au jus with lots of flavour. The cheese they served beforehand was also really tasty. All in a tiny place down a little back street off of one of the old squares. So, the day was actually pretty good.

Toodling around Coimbra
Heart 0 Comment 0
With these flowers around you really have to watch your nose
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 4,678 km (2,905 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0