Monday Dec 1: Coimbra to Leiria: Congratulations S&D! - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

December 1, 2003

Monday Dec 1: Coimbra to Leiria: Congratulations S&D!

What was that round yellow disk in the sky this morning? What is wrong with the sky? It's all blue.

What a stupendous day for riding on a holiday Monday in Portugal. The water on everything just made everything sparkle. The sky was interesting to watch, too. There were thunderstorms predicted and the sky to my right (west) was very ominous and purple and I am sure it was raining over there. The winds were just right and they blew those same clouds away from me.

Now here I am in this little town with a castle or fortress perched way up on the top of a mountain with the town all around. The river winds its way through the old centre with its very Portuguese looking churches. I am even thinking that I might stay another day.

And as I wandered around the town a little while ago, though the temperature is about 15 C, there were Christmas carols playing. White Christmas was one of them - I think they'll be waiting a while for that one around here.

Well, it must be about that time to go and find a suitable place to get a fine Portuguese lunch. I might have some wine, too.

Fortress looming over Leiria
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just down from my hotel, Leiria
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 70 km (43 miles)
Total: 4,748 km (2,949 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0