Saturday Sep 27: Kranjska Gora to Lepena via Vršič Pass (1611 m) - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2003

Saturday Sep 27: Kranjska Gora to Lepena via Vršič Pass (1611 m)

Had a marvelous breakfast where I was staying today after a great sleep and a relaxing ride yesterday. I keep psyching myself up so much that I might just pass out or something.

The first few km were only a slight incline until I came to the sign for a 14% grade, and I started to climb in earnest, starting out that early in the ride standing on the pedals just to move. To combat the cold (about 4 C) I started at 8 am, but it meant the traffic was slightly heavy, but not that bad, really. The park keeps the road narrow and rough-ish to discourage a plethora of tourists.

The first hour was fairly fine. No pain, the lungs were good, though whatever the problem is with the bike is causing me a bit of grief. I had to stop a few times to adjust the wheel and brakes so the tire would not rub and slow me down a lot.

The next 45 minutes were a little tougher. Actually, a lot tougher. Really tough. But, as long as I took frequent breaks, I was able to rest my legs and lungs. Each switchback had its own number... 21... 22.... 23... as well as its altitude, so I knew how fast (or slow) I was ascending. I came to a bunch of parked cars, a few buses and a lot of people looking at me, then applauding - I had made it in 1:45. Not too bad. The views were great, and many of the tourists wanted my pic which was kind of nice.

Then came the descent which in some ways was as difficult as the ascent. The switchbacks were really hairy, and a few times I stopped to take a picture but also get cold stream water to pour on my rims to cool them - overheated rims can blow the tire off the rim. Anyone wanting to do this ride - make sure your brakes are in top form beforehand.

The rest of the ride was primarily downhill through the Soča River Valley, which was stunning. The water was a pale green and grew as I descended. I ended up staying in a mountain cottage a few metres from the Soča, and was shown the source of the Soča (really neat), dipped my feet into the Soča (really cold) and saw the Soča Canyon. An amazing area. What a country, and what great people.

I've got to climb THAT?! Somewhere up there is THE climb I have been anticipating.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Boy, am I glad to be here. Not in record time, by any stretch of the imagination, but still alive and in one piece - except for the broken rear axle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cresting Vršič Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0
Source of the rim-cooling water to prevent the tire from blowing off.
Heart 0 Comment 0
... and down the other side of Vršič.
Heart 0 Comment 0
"No-one shall pass..."
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 km (22 miles)
Total: 1,647 km (1,023 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0