Sunday Sep 28: Lepena to Cividale del Friuli, Italia - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 28, 2003

Sunday Sep 28: Lepena to Cividale del Friuli, Italia

Because I was in the heart of the mountains, I got up a little later this morning. Despite that, I still wore my Gore-Tex pants and coat for the first few hours to keep from freezing to death.

Most of the day was downhill again, but it was very foggy so I could not see the mountain tops. In a small village about 10 km from the border I stopped in a cafe, where I tried to chat with the owner, took his picture, gave him some pins, and thanked him for having such a great country.

Across the border, and slowly out of the mountains, it started to warm up and I started to see palm trees again and vineyards (ie wine is in these here parts). I was not sure where I would stop, but this town was noted in the LP Italy, so I came here to see what I could find. Right off the bat it seemed there were almost no accommodations, which saddened me, as the town square with Mr J Caesar (he founded this town) was very nice. I asked the first person who came along who spoke perfect english and she directed me to a bar to Mo who also spoke english - he asked a few people and within a short bit, I had a B&B at 80-year-old 'Mama''s. It is a very Italianate place, and is just metres away from the wall above the river.

Now I am exploring the city, but would like to try to find the F1 race today, but we shall see. I am already really tired and it is only 4 pm. What a sissy, eh?!

Now that I am in Italia, I must decide whether to head south toward Tuscany, north through the Alps, or straight across through the Po Valley. So far, every choice I have made has been great so I am not worried about that - this is a fun decision to have to make!

And these become...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yup, that's Caesar
Heart 0 Comment 0
The old city from the bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Clowning around
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 1,701 km (1,056 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0