Saturday Dec 6: Torres Vedras to Sintra: For the Irvines who were in Sintra in 1982 - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

December 6, 2003

Saturday Dec 6: Torres Vedras to Sintra: For the Irvines who were in Sintra in 1982

After decadently lounging this morning and having breakfast at my Pensao, I was out into the soggy wet yonder towards the coast again. I love when I can see the Ocean or Sea. I think I should have a cottage on a cliff here.

The ride today, though wet, was unbelievable. For a while it hugged the cliff-tops so when I looked down I could see the aquamarine water, the breakers coming up onto the very Portuguese yellow sand, and above it all, the black and brownish-red cliffs topped with emerald green fields. Can you say WOW? And at one point...through the rain and mist...I could see land jutting way out into the Atlantic. Yes, Cabo da Roca. Tomorrow's zenith.

With the wind directly in my face for the longest time, it made today's distance feel longer than yesterday, but before long, there was Pena Palace's silhouette up on the mountain top. Yes, it still took a while to reach Sintra, but here I was... after a 22 and a half year absence. I could not remember much, but the Palace and Castle were exactly as I remembered them. Though I could not remember much of the town, I certainly was impressed with what I saw. I ended up getting a room that was actually an apartment complete with a kitchen, dishes, living room and dining table. Kind of odd, but here I am just a few blocks from the old centre with all of this space. And the landlady is a litle old sweety.

I just finished my lunch which inluded toasting (in my head) to those who were here in 1981. The cats and dogs were all over the place a few minutes ago, but if the skies clear, I am going to make the hike up to the Moopish Castle (ie Seinfeld, 'Bubble Boy' episode). Otherwise, I will admire it from afar and wander through the old town. Two amazing choices before an amazing culmination to this amazing trip tomorrow.

The west coast of Portugal (in the rain)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Central Sintra... tres cool
Heart 0 Comment 0
Can you believe this is a bus stop?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 4,955 km (3,077 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0