Friday Dec 5: Peniche to Torres Vedras: Last of the Lush Rolling Hills? - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

December 5, 2003

Friday Dec 5: Peniche to Torres Vedras: Last of the Lush Rolling Hills?

Good thing I had snacked on a few clementines (up to about a million of them by now) for when I went for my 'included' breakfast, the place was locked up and all the lights were off. So I snuck a bread from the bag on their door knob and wheeled off into the blowing rain.

Mind you, before long the rain had stopped and the sun was trying to come out, the wind switched around about 5 times and was finally at my back, and the road I chose today, a bit longer than 'necessary' traversed endless vineyards and tiny little old villages. And the oranges and clementines looked sooooo good. I think before this trip is over I am going to reach over and pluck one of those little clemmies off a branch and gobble it up before the fruit police come and take me away with the evidence in my hands. I eat about 10 of them a day and will have withdrawals the day I leave.

Suddenly I was in this town that I know nothing about, but there is a nice old cobbled centre that I will explore shortly. I found a nice little residencial with breakfast right in the centre. And I am sure there is some ancient tower or fortress of some type here, based on the name. Much to seek and discover!

It feels kind of weird today. Tomorrow I should be in Sintra, then on Sunday I will do the loop out to Cabo da Roca... the 'finale'... and around to Estoril. Then that is basically it for the cycling in this trip. I may do a day trip into Lisboa, but that will be short and without my bags. So I am kind of having mixed feelings about this. Many sights of the past few months were popping into my mind this morning... some from one country, some from another... I'll miss this discovering, though I will not miss the daily sitting and grinding on the pedals for hours. Mind you, the cyclists' high (like the runners' high) will kick in by the day I fly home, and I will be going crazy wanting to go for a bike ride. I guess I'll have to pull out the off-road bike with the snow-chains, eh?

Fortress in Torres Vedras
Heart 0 Comment 0
From up on the fortress hill
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 4,905 km (3,046 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0