Monday Oct 6: Certosa di Pavia to Alessandria - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 6, 2003

Monday Oct 6: Certosa di Pavia to Alessandria

Wouldn't you know it. After that wind and cold yesterday, then a lot of rain in the night, I awoke to a perfectly clear morning - a nice glow in the east behind the Monastero was just what I wanted to see now that I was back on the bike. Is someone listening to me and watching my cycling?!

It was cold. But not too bad, so that by the time I arrived today, I had removed my coat, and it was about 20 C. Interestingly, as I cycled, I watched the mountains. The ones north of me were jagged and snow-covered; the ones south of me were forested and 'softer', but they were converging somewhere ahead of me. Signs of things to come on Thursday when I cross the mountain passes into France.

Today I was lucky and was able to find a lot of small roads. Yet, even these have a way of conjuring up vehicles out of thin air. But, not too busy; just amazing that there are so many people going all over the place all the time. When they made roads here, they placed a map of Italia on the floor. Then they cooked up a huge pot of spaghetti. While the spaghetti was cooking they had a lot of wine. Then when the spaghetti was ready, they closed their eyes and flung it all over the map on the floor. Then the transportation minister who was among the group said that where spaghetti lay, there will be roads.

Finding a hotel was no problem today, and so here I am, online for the first time in a while. The city is not mentioned in my book, so I am kind of wandering aimlessly.

And now I am hungry, so that's all for now!

At least the view of the monastery was beautiful while I changed my flat trailer tire.
Heart 0 Comment 0
En route today during harvesting
Heart 0 Comment 0
Po valley beauty
Heart 0 Comment 0
Try to figure out where you're going in this mess
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 2,252 km (1,398 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0