Tuesday Oct 7: Alessandria to Alba: Brent feels under the weather - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 7, 2003

Tuesday Oct 7: Alessandria to Alba: Brent feels under the weather

The day started out just fine, though coolish - I'm sure it was only a few degrees above 0 C today. I MUST get some ski gloves or mits.

The day was beautifully clear and went from flat as a pancake to slightly undulating terrain. I was getting away from the industrialization of the rest of the Po Valley and kind of zeroing in on Cuneo where I will pick up my mail. Then I started to feel kind of weak on the hills, and it felt like a strong wind was blowing and slowing me down. But there was an ever so light breeze, and that's all. I had to stop a lot but finally made it into Alba.

I was fortunate that the hotel was easy to find, they had room for me and they could store my bike inside, all of which is kind of important. Just outside my room window and to the left was an ongoing market. Though a different country, it was right out of the Year in Provence. There were bundled-up men with scarves skulking around, I am sure dealing in tartuffi (truffles) as this is high season and this town is known for their truffle fairs. It was a bright and crisp fall day, so perfect to go and immerse myself in this - except that by now (11 am) I felt way worse. I just went to bed and stayed there all day, no kidding. All I can say is, I'm glad that anti-nausea pills exist and that I had them. I am such a baby when I'm sick.

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 2,317 km (1,439 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0