Ha Long to Cat Ba - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

January 20, 2018

Ha Long to Cat Ba

If there are no motorcycles, you made a wrong turn

This morning I discovered that I already broke a spoke. Fortunately it wasn't on the I cassette side of the rear wheel. I asked around until I found a guy (who new a guy) with spare spokes. His spokes were too long, but he expertly cut it shorter and bent it before installing it. It won't last, so I Googled for a proper cycling shop.

I followed a route based on OSM. But it there was almost no traffic on it. Eventually it terminated in a construction site. So I turned around and followed the busy roads.

There are many construction projects in Ha Long, including this road project.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bridge on the left goes to Ha Long. On the right is a cable car.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The haze gives a sense of distance
Heart 1 Comment 0
This seaplane came out of the water for a wash.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of my fellow passengers on the ferry had a live pig on his motorcycle
Heart 0 Comment 0
This karst has a small cave. My bicycle is also in the photo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The ferry route crosses a busy shipping lane
Heart 2 Comment 0
A floating village
Heart 1 Comment 0
A house on stilts near Cat Ba
Heart 0 Comment 0

It turns out Google was wrong about the shop. But I was still glad I went on the journey. From the marine parade, I could see a some impressive karsts in the bay.

Then I cycled to Tuan Chau and took the ferry to Cat Ba Island. After another 23 km in the saddle, I was in Cat Ba town. My hotel is right on the marine parade and cost only 8 dollar.

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 282 km (175 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0