Hanoi to Ha Long - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

January 19, 2018

Hanoi to Ha Long

Sunrise to sunset

Yesterday I entered Hanoi by crossing a brand modern bridge. Today I left by crossing the dilapidated Domer bridge (new name??). It was built by the French soon after they built the Eiffel tower. But America bomb part of it during the war.

I started with Google Maps in pedestrian mode. But sent me into a tiny rural village and I was really fortunate that the villagers showed my an unpaved thoroughfare. After an experiment with maps.me, I went back to OsmAnd.

And I stuck to the QL18, even though the traffic was continuous and relatively lawless. Judging by the numbers of scooters and pedestrians, I can however only conclude that it must be quite safe.

It was another rainless day and there was no sign of the mud that frustrated Penny.

Tonight I'm sleeping in a beautiful hotel room that is cheaper than all the camping sites I visited in Europe.

Vang Chua bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some war monument
Heart 0 Comment 0
This kite was flying above an eight storey building
Heart 0 Comment 0
And that's how they repair their punctures. Exactly like a bicycle.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 150 km (93 miles)
Total: 202 km (125 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0