Cat Ba to Thai Binh Province - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

January 21, 2018

Cat Ba to Thai Binh Province

Cat Ba Harbour as seen from the fort
Heart 1 Comment 0
This dog was sleeping in the road. The only road out of Cat Ba.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesThis looks very much like the Yucatan Peninsula where we are cycling now. Often we have had to move over to pass by a dog asleep on the road. Grampies
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
A sandy on the Western shore of Cat Ba Island
Heart 0 Comment 0

I started the day by riding up to the old fort. (2 km with 10 percent incline)

On my to Hai Phong, I encountered two resident cyclists. They confirmed my research of the previous night regarding the bicycle repair shops.

The bicycle mechanic didn't speak any English, but he did an excellent job in replacing my spokes and truing my wheel. And the price was one fifth of what I paid in Frankfurt on my previous tour.

Then I headed South West. When it got dark, I found spotted a hotel and negotiated the clerk down to 9 dollar.

A ship and a ferry
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 99 km (61 miles)
Total: 381 km (237 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0