Metamora to Toluca - Centered on Central Illinois - CycleBlaze

September 19, 2020

Metamora to Toluca

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a delivery to make in Metamora last Saturday, and figured starting a bike ride from there would give me some new roads to ride. With Toluca as the destination, I started out at 11:30am.

11:30am - corner of Partridge Street and Wetmore Street, Metamora
Heart 0 Comment 0

On the attached track map, direction of travel is clockwise, making my first town stop Cazenovia, and I was there at 12:29pm. I'd planned to "tour" all the towns I passed though, but due to a few missed turns, I didn't do a very thorough job. I did a fair job at Low Point, seeing the post office, an old business building, and the now-closed Low Point High School. A grade-school girl on her bike followed me around town, telling me about how she bicycles every day, and that it's good exercise. When I told her I was on my way to Washburn next, she said she goes there every day [for school].

12:50pm - Ruff Brothers Grain, Low Point
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped on my way through Washburn at 1:30pm for a coffee break at Grant Ireland Memorial Park, where I met a grade-school boy on his bike. He wanted to know why I had walkie-talkies [my GPS units] attached to my bike. He then followed me around until I was out of the park.

2:13pm - along CR-3 just north of Marshall County line
Heart 1 Comment 0

I crossed the BNSF double-track main line at 2:32pm, and was in La Rose at 2:38pm for a quick loop around town. Next town - Toluca. Before getting there I came to a planned gravel road - my favorite for this ride. The best picture I have of that road includes a rather poor selfie.

3:07pm - along Marshall County CR-2150E
Heart 0 Comment 0
3:25pm - free corn next to North Branch Crow Creek
Heart 0 Comment 0
3:51pm - Toluca
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a Dollar General store just beyond the city sign, so I stopped there for a couple of sodas, and some other snacks to go with my planned supper from either Mona's or Capponi's. Toluca has the strangest set-up for dining in town - two Italian restaurants, owned by the same family, and located just one block apart. Here's an article about the restaurants:

Mona's, Capponi's, Bernardi's: Family business thrives over three generations

I asked the clerk at the Dollar General which would be the better place to get a carryout cheeseburger. She said they're about the same, but her husband prefers Mona's. Good enough.

I drank one of my soda bottles outside the store, then headed downtown, arriving at Mona's at 4:28pm. Twenty minutes later I had my sack lunch in-hand. The cashier was overgenerous with silverware and napkins.

4:49pm - supper to go
Heart 0 Comment 0
4:50pm - a minute later I passed the competition
Heart 0 Comment 0

I continued on north through town on Main Street to Pool Park, where the Google Earth map at home had indicated there are picnic tables.

4:55pm - bacon cheeseburger with chips, plus a pickle, two sets of silverware, and eighteen napkins (with soda from Dollar General)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Dinner was very good, and put me just at the "I'm full." point.

Starting at 5:34pm, I slowly made my way back through town. Seeing a sign just before I made it out of town reminded me that I wanted to see Toluca's jumbo. I'd tried to get a picture of Roanoke's jumbo on my last trip, but it (my picture) was unimpressive. I didn't do much better here.

5:54pm - part of Toluca's jumbo
Heart 0 Comment 0
6:03pm - leaving Toluca going south on CR-2700E
Heart 1 Comment 0

There were clouds (or maybe smoke from California) on the western horizon, so it turned out this was my best "sunset" picture, even though sunset wasn't until 6:59pm.

6:26pm - South Branch Crow Creek
Heart 0 Comment 0
6:31pm - hazy sunlight
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 6:50pm my GPS indicated that I'd crossed back into Woodford County.

7:18pm - turning west onto CR-1950N (and putting on my jacket)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Straight miles with repeating turns south and west put me on IL-116 a mile east of Metamora at 9:12pm. At 9:21pm I was back at my truck, recording 57 miles for the day. Maximum speed was 25.1 mph and average moving speed was 9.0 mph. Low to high elevation change was less than 200 feet, making this an easy day, despite the miles being a little more than I'd figured.

There was a lot of riding in the dark this trip, and my bottle generator worked well keeping my lights on. And it was much quieter this time, since I'd adjusted the generator slightly to get its drive wheel off the edge of the tire's tread and more onto the sidewall. It'd been misadjusted since last year, when I'd put on that tire in Nebraska.

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 354 miles (570 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0