Morton to Roanoke - Centered on Central Illinois - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2020

Morton to Roanoke

Heart 0 Comment 0

The chance for rain a week ago Saturday decreased to near zero percent by mid-morning, so I headed out for another attempt to reach Roanoke. After receiving well wishes from my neighbor, I took off at 11:44am. I'd routed as much as possible to use different roads than my last trip. Still the start and ending were on the same roads. On the attached map, direction of travel is counter-clockwise.

12:19pm - my first stop was at one of my favorite break spots - Hillcrest Memory Gardens
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 1:04pm I got on a road I hadn't been on for a while - Guth Road. That took me to Woodford County at 1:23pm and on further to the site of the former town of Versailles at 2:01pm. There's just one house there now, but nearby to the west is a new subdivision - Cobblestone Lake.

North and east a few miles put me on CR1700E, a road going straight north to Roanoke.

2:31pm - looking east from CR1700E just north of US-24
Heart 2 Comment 0

I arrived at IL-116 on the west edge of Roanoke at 3:24pm. Some of my father-in-law's childhood had been spent in Roanoke. He provided me with the Roanoke addresses of several houses that his family and relatives had lived in, so I'd mapped out a route through town to see them.

Houses on South First Street were first. Then on into town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Next, at 3:40pm, was a stop at the depot near Panther Creek.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking through the window, desks inside the depot show flash flood water level stains, the latest ones being from July 15.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed over to the IGA next, to purchase lunch items. Didn't see any sandwiches, but finding free plastic spoons next to containers of potato salad in a refrigerated display case convinced me to go with that. Other items I purchased, besides chocolate milk, were Skittles, Leman's Mints, and a Woodford County Journal for carrying back home. It's been a long time since I'd seen/had a Leman's Mint. Here's a 2008 story about them:

Leman's mints return to Central Illinois

Two more houses to look for (on West Prairie Street and North Green Street), then on to Roanoke Park.

The park was busy with families and kids, but I was able to find an empty shelter. Watching disc golf players while I ate impressed upon me that I apparently don't know/understand the rules of the game.

4:35pm - lunch in Roanoke Park
Heart 0 Comment 0

I left the park at 5:14pm, riding west and north to get to CR1500N, the non-highway road to get me west.

5:56pm - a few birds not afraid of me on CR1500N
Heart 0 Comment 0
6:26pm - heading south on this fine gravel road (CR1300E)
Heart 0 Comment 0
6:48pm - Walnut Creek along CR 1300N
Heart 0 Comment 0
6:58pm - along Woodford County Highway 3 near former Woodford County Home
Heart 2 Comment 0

I decided to change (somewhat) my going-home planned routing, and ride through Washington on its southeast side. So at 7:17pm, I turned south into Tazewell County on Dee-Mack Road. I don't usually ride on this busy no-shoulder road, but it got me to Cruger Road without problem.

7:23pm - on Dee-Mack Road just north of Dutch Lane
Heart 0 Comment 0
7:32pm - sunset along Cruger Road
Heart 1 Comment 0
I figured I'd taken my last picture for the day, but there was one more opportunity at 8:02pm, just after I turned onto Diebel Road.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Checked GPS info after I arrived home at 9:12pm: 54 miles and 8.7mph moving average. Now, time for a Leman's Mint!

Jeff

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 297 miles (478 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0