Morton to Hopedale - Centered on Central Illinois - CycleBlaze

November 7, 2020

Morton to Hopedale

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had one more day trip route planned - to Hopedale - if the weather was good on a day I had available. The weather on this Saturday certainly qualified, with a predicted high of 71F and reasonable wind from the south. What I hadn't thought of until it was pointed out to me, was the sunset would be even earlier - 4:47pm this day, thanks to the time change a week ago. Considering that, I didn't get a very early start (10:22am), but the route was shorter than the others I'd planned. Travel direction this day was clockwise, which had me going east on Jackson Street, then south on Tennessee Avenue at the start.

No fall trip near Morton would be complete without seeing a pumpkin patch.

10:51am - pumpkins along Tennessee Avenue
Heart 0 Comment 0

My first stop for coffee was halfway down Ritthaler Road at 11:23am. One happy surprise this morning while loading the bike was the discovery that I wasn't out of Leman's Mints after all - there were a few in my front bag, so I had one of those as I started back up.

There were several going east and going west sections on my route, so I wasn't always heading into the wind.

11:55am - heading west on East Lake Windermere Road
Heart 0 Comment 0

The main reason my route was clockwise is remembering the work it took last time I went up the hill on Sauder Road. This way I'd be going down. But first, another coffee break.

12:22pm - Mackinaw River Valley from Sauder Road
Heart 1 Comment 0
12:41pm - looking west from Benson Road at Mackinaw River
Heart 1 Comment 0

I initially hesitated making a planned turn off of Kentuckiana Road, since this road looked more like a private farm lane than a road. But it did go through, and turned into a "real road" after the farm.

1:29pm - unnamed road 1/4 mile east of County Highway 9
Heart 0 Comment 0

Shortly after, I was at an old bridge in a very pretty area.

1:35pm - Little Mackinaw River from Valley Road
Heart 0 Comment 0

My first sight of Hopedale's water tower was from Valley Road beyond the bridge.

1:41pm - Hopedale ahead
Heart 0 Comment 0

A left turn off Valley Road put me on Shiloh Road and brought me to Shiloh Cemetery and another coffee break at 1:53pm. I did finally enter Hopedale from the east on County Highway 9 at 2:23pm. Rode through Railroad Park and checked out the caboose there. Then on to downtown.

2:39pm - old Hopedale Post Office
Heart 0 Comment 0
2:40pm - looking northwest at Main Street
Heart 1 Comment 0

With no carryout restaurants open (that I knew of), I picked up a cheeseburger, cherry pie, and chocolate milk from Casey's for eating at the park at the southwest side of town.

3:12pm - lunch at Hopedale Park
Heart 0 Comment 0

Two minutes after I started riding again I came upon a farmer happy to stop a moment for a picture.

3:37pm - old Oliver tractor
Heart 0 Comment 0

I continued going south to Olympia Road (CR-500N) so that on my way back home I could ride through Townhall Road Overpass and Orendorff Cemetery, both of which I'd seen before, but not this late in the day.

4:00pm - this double arch bridge (1889) outlasted the railroad it used to carry over the creek and Townhall Road
Heart 1 Comment 0
4:10pm - through Orendorff Cemetery
Heart 1 Comment 0

My routing home was mostly straight north. Now the wind would help me, but I wondered if I'd be at a good location for a sunset picture. I eventually realized I wouldn't make it out of the Mackinaw River Valley in time to get to an open area. But that worked out - there was an acceptable view from the bridge! I made time for my last coffee break here.

4:39pm - Mackinaw River sunset
Heart 0 Comment 0

A lot of frontage road riding as it got dark. It was pleasant.

5:14pm - after sunset view from Lay Road with I-155 in foreground
Heart 0 Comment 0

When it was really dark, I got cold. I pulled on my coveralls, and put my jacket and gloves on as soon I got to South Fourth Avenue. Later I was getting too warm; removing the gloves fixed that.

I arrived home at 6:48pm, which felt like the middle of the night. Today's ride was 45 miles, and will probably be the last trip for this year.

Jeff

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 450 miles (724 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesNice rides, great country. Thanks.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thank you! I'm looking forward to reading more of your entries showing the SF Bay Area. That's a whole different world to me.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
3 years ago