I Don't Need No Stinking Rest Day (But I Took One Anyway) - A Snake, A Heart, And An Earring - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2021

I Don't Need No Stinking Rest Day (But I Took One Anyway)

Still In Moscow

I hated Moscow when I first arrived yesterday.  I hated the approach to the city, and the outskirts did nothing to alleviate the hate.

I changed my mind a little when I passed through the historic downtown area.  It seemed pretty hip and vibrant, but I was too worn out to experience the vibe.  I just wanted to look for a place to stay for the night.

This morning, I made the decision to stay here another day.  It wasn't that I needed a rest;  I just needed to figure out where I was going.  My new route had only been planned for one day.  I had no idea where to go next.  And I fell asleep in my Super 8 Motel room shortly after I checked in yesterday, and I slept until 10:00 p.m. so I missed going somewhere for dinner.  My supper consisted of almonds and beef jerky.

I had to clear my head.  I had to call The Feeshko for her birthday.  I needed some time to answer all the messages on my Cycleblaze journal, my e-mails, my texts, and Cycle365.  I had to review my bank account.  Plus, it's the National Football League opener.  Make no mistake about it, this is not a rest day.

After asking for an extra night at the Super 8 and working out most of my problems, I set out to explore Moscow, Idaho.  I rode up and down a whole lot of streets.

Moscow is a college town.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Moscow is a hilly town.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Moscow is a bike-friendly town. These images appear all over the place -- even on residential streets.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bikes are locked up to bike racks all over town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Moscow has a cool downtown area. With a bunch of little restaurants and shops and people sipping coffee on patios, it feels like a village.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Is it too soon for another wine review?
Heart 0 Comment 2
Keith KleinHi,
No.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinPerhaps the shortest, and best, comment I've gotten. But I didn't buy a bottle there. Sorry.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Moscow has many holy places.  I'll just show a couple of them.

This stone-faced Methodist church was pretty interesting.
Heart 0 Comment 0
So was this Islamic Center.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Moscow is a wall mural town.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I like this one on the side of the food co-op.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This one is outside the restaurant where I had breakfast.
Heart 2 Comment 0
And I liked the entrance to the old Moscow High School. The new Moscow high school is across the street and isn't worth a picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm back in my motel room and I'm watching football during the NFL season opener.  The Minnesota Vikings lost today, which was disappointing.  The good news is that my team's arch-rival, the Green Bay Packers are getting walloped, as of the third quarter.

Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 210 miles (338 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonLooks like a good place to spend a non-rest day. How did Moscow get its name?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonI have warm feelings about Moscow. We enjoyed two day rides through here from Palouse, but mostly I remember i t for the three visits I paid to their wound nurse while my dog bite was healing.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago