Day 5 - Heidi Ho - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2012

Day 5

We're off. Not sure if we are the three musketeers or the three stooges?
Heart 2 Comment 0

We're off! Our first day was a little dreary, weather wise, but it wasn't an all out rain.

It's definitely different this year, riding with Leo and Steph. For one thing, I can just follow behind and watch the scenery go by, without having to worry about mundane things like where we are going, where we will eat, or where we will camp.

I also don't have to worry about embarrassing myself with my awful French. Still, I have my moments. At the campground tonight, Steph and Leo had a long conversation with the campground lady about, well, I have no idea. I just sat there and smiled when I thought it was warranted, and try not too look too stupid.

At the end, when the lady was walking us out to show us where to camp, and they were finishing up their conversation, I piped up with perfectly worded, "Do you have WiFi?"

I wish I could have captured the look on their (all three) faces. They looked at me in shock, eyes as big as saucers, wondering what had gotten into me, with my uppity sounding, perfect French. I have to admit, I felt rather proud of myself. Of course, after the lady left, I had to ask them how she replied to me. So much for improvement.

But anyway, it was a fun day, and what else matters?

Of, course, I got in a little reading before I left. Notice the author, who's name used to be Les, but had to be changed because les means "the" in French.
Heart 1 Comment 0
...but I was a little worried about his demeanor changing in one store.
Heart 1 Comment 0
...it got a little hairy for a minute. But we worked it out in the end.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Leo in front of a chateau that was built into the side of a mountain
Heart 2 Comment 0
Leo and Steph outside the chateau at Biron
Heart 1 Comment 0
More Biron
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first cow traffic jam
Heart 3 Comment 0
This would not go over well in America! People would have been of honking.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesAh the joys of cycling in rural France. Rural anywhere in Europe actually. The Grampies
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Karen CookI know! I love riding in France. I think I need to go back again ;-)
Reply to this comment
6 years ago

Today's ride: 79 km (49 miles)
Total: 104 km (65 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0