Day 55 Needles-Amboy - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 16, 2018

Day 55 Needles-Amboy

Make Wind your favorite

The climbing started right out of Needles, for 15 miles. Starting out with no wind, that changed after about an hour,pretty strong side wind it took 3 hours to go 27 miles between the climbing and the wind not the slowest I've gone but close. Once I got off I-40, the road angled more Southwest so I have a strong Tailwind. The sign said Amboy 45 MI, did the first 25 miles in an hour and 15 minutes, the last 20 we're slower I still got to Amboy by 3:30. There were six washouts on the road so the road is closed to through traffic so no cars. So for the most part I had the road to myself. At each of the washouts there was a dirt road around it, a little bumpy but doable. In Amboy there is Roy's Hotel / Cafe / gas station, they let cyclists stay in the motel bungalows. Now it's a gas station / convenience store. I'm staying in Bungalow number four. There's no water or electricity so I had to make sure I packed two days worth of water before I left Needles.

A memorial to Army personnel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Woohoo 3000 miles
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another derelict building of Times Gone by
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
People spell their names out in stones, these were all up and down the highway on the way to Amboy
Heart 0 Comment 0
Roy's iconic Motel, Cafe, gas station, now it's a convenience store and gas station
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bungalow number 4 my home for the night
Heart 1 Comment 0
Short tour living room
Heart 0 Comment 0
At one time was a bathroom with a shower
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sleeping quarters and yes I slept on that mattress
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Roy's sign at sunset
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 71 miles (114 km)
Total: 3,051 miles (4,910 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0