Day 21 Cuba Missouri to Gasconade Hills Resort - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2018

Day 21 Cuba Missouri to Gasconade Hills Resort

Starting out on Route 66

After 2 days of R&R in Cuba, drinking rum,smoking cigars...er Wrong Cuba,It's Cuba Missouri. The town has murals on buildings in this one part of town. They depict their war effort, daily life in southern Missouri. A couple of famous people were here, Amelia Earhart and Betty Davis they are depicted in the murals also.

I'm back on the road. It's the first day of Route 66, I got as far as Fanning Missouri to the giant rocker. Before I had the third flat tire of the trip. Donna my wife, met me in Cuba with some things that I didn't want to carry for the three weeks. One of them being a new tire. So that's on the bike, new tube. Now I can start today( the flat tire was about four miles from the hotel).

I didn't know where I'd end up, I'd put out some warm shower requests. But they didn't work out. I headed out thinking Waynesboro Missouri would be my camping spot. So I moved along. I found a nice little Campground called Gascoade Hills Resort. I actually called both campgrounds the one in Waynesboro was $20, and this one was 8 bucks, well being the cheap SOB that I am I chose this one you guessed it the $8 one. I'm the only tent camper here, only two other campers in the campground. I've got the place to myself.

The ride was split between Frontage Road Interstate riding and quiet roads, with some busy roads thrown in just to keep me on my toes. The ACA Maps sent me through a national forest I believe it was Mark Twain National Forest very scenic.

Betty Davis was here
Heart 0 Comment 0
As was Amelia Earhart
Heart 0 Comment 0
I want one of these
Heart 0 Comment 0
World's largest rocker I don't know if that's true but that's what the sign said
Heart 0 Comment 0
Number three, 4 miles from the hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 73 miles (117 km)
Total: 1,178 miles (1,896 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0