Day 22 Gasconade Hills Resort-Marshfield-Springfield - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 13, 2018

Day 22 Gasconade Hills Resort-Marshfield-Springfield

My shadow said seriously you can't go any faster

The Campground owner told me about road closure,and that I could lift the bike over the barriers ride across,I had read that in other journals also.The ACA maps would have go around on a very busy road.  I never seemed to get into a rhythm today. My shadow even said you mean this is as fast as you can go. I stopped a lot drink a lot of water, ate at regular intervals. I set up a warm showers host in Springfield. At about 1 p.m. I texted them and stated I probably wouldn't make it past Marshfield, and I went ahead and call the campground in Marshfield for information. I decided this would be my stopping spot for the night I was about 6 miles from Marshfield, the WS host texted me and said she'd come and pick me up. I texted back and said great I'll take it. I told her I'd meet her at the McDonald's in Marshfield just off the interstate. Meanwhile the bike had other plans I was going up the hill and suddenly I heard a spoke break"Oh Crap" I loosened the rear brake and slogged along. Made it to the McDonald's and waited for Snow, yes that is her name. She gave me a ride to her house, and there's two other cyclists staying here. Tomorrow I go to the bike shop that she recommended and get my spoke fixed.

What is closed to cars and trucks is not always closed to bicycles
Heart 0 Comment 0
Take the panniers off lift the bike over the railing put the panniers back on
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ride across bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And repeat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Up and down up and down and up all day long
Heart 0 Comment 0
Out of business, right in town also
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 1,230 miles (1,979 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0