Day 14 off to Hoptown - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 1, 2018

Day 14 off to Hoptown

Rough River Campground to Gregory lake ATV Park and Campground

The day started great slept like a log, a dead log. Another Google Map day, great roads, not much traffic. I was thinking I could do the hundred miles to Hopkinsville Kentucky but the Hills and Rain put a kibosh on that. Stopped for the first break on the steps of a church. Across from the church the road went up, so back to Hike a bike for about 300 yards. No sooner I started riding it started raining, hard at times. I resigned myself that it was going to be a wet day. Really hilly road for about an hour or so to Spring Lick where I took my second break .Then it was State Route 62 West which I would be on the rest of the day. Stopped in at a Subway for a late lunch and escape the Heat in Central City. I left there about 4:30 p.m., I wanted to get some more miles and so I headed toward Greenville Kentucky thinking I'd be able to camp at the park or a firehouse. I called the firehouse, they had to call their boss for permission. The boss said no, the firehouse is right downtown, so no grassy area around it. However the chief suggested a small park around the corner from the firehouse. Law enforcement had other ideas they send me East 8 miles to a ATV campground. Being Labor Day weekend it was Party Central, a good band and nice facilities. I was fine once I got there, fed and set up. The road to the the ATV Park was one hill after another in a 3/4 mile Gravel Road, Golf ball-sized Gravel in the dark. Needless to say it was not a happy camper I took it in stride like a lot of things on this trip. It's not an adventure unless things go wrong.

Interesting driveway sculpture
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The church steps where I took my first break
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hike a bike hill in the rain
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 80 miles (129 km)
Total: 737 miles (1,186 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0